Help Me Choose with Hard drive to get rid of first - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: which computer quest is the best
antec 11 44.00%
raidmax 1 4.00%
thermaltake 13 52.00%
powermax 0 0%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2005, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Help Me Choose with Hard drive to get rid of first

Boss man wants be to build a refurbished 2nd hand machine for the warehouse.

Now I got an oportunity to get rid of one of my 40Gb Hard Drives that I have in my other computer.

I got a Maxtor 40Gb @ 7200 RPM and a Seagate 40Gb @ 7200 RPM in my other computer. One of them is going to get upgraded to a Seagate 80 Gb @ 7200 RPM.

Now the problem I face is this, which hard drive should I keep?

MAXTOR 40Gb :- Apart from being a Maxtor (a brand I do on trust to even pr0n), there is nothing wrong with the drive. However Maxtors in my eyes have always had a rather large failure rate.

SEAGATE 40Gb :- Worked fine..... except for the fact that 2 middle pins on the the molex connection are missing thanks to Hucules-The-Computer-Tech. Normally I trust Seagate, but with the fact that it's missing 2 pins on the molex connection, I am rather doughtful.

Both Hard Drive are 2 years old.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 08:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well if it's missing the a couple pins out of the molex connector isn't that going to prevent it from working right at all?

I don't like maxtor but it seems like you'd have to go that route
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Am I right in assuming this is not a mission critical computer? I would just use the maxtor, and maybe have the seage jury rigged and gosted ready to replace it if it fails. I personally have a maxtor that I had my OS on for a year and now have a a second drive. Works fine thus far.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 08-29-2005, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Arrow The Lessor Of 2 Evils

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
well if it's missing the a couple pins out of the molex connector isn't that going to prevent it from working right at all?
It's missing the 2 middle pins on the molex connection. And it has been working for the last 12 months.

Quote:
Originally posted by digitaloracle
Am I right in assuming this is not a mission critical computer?
Not really. However it is my Download box and the box that I author DVDs on. So it does see a lot of work.

At the end of the day, what ever drive I do keep is just going to have Windows Installed on it. So if the drive does die, the only thing I am going to loss i about 2 hours in re-install every thing.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 01:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Even though I hate Maxtors, I have deside to keep it. It's only the OS and program files that I am keep on it. So nothing I can't replace.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 10:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well the chassis ground is the same thing with two pin's. Hold the harddrive up in the air and it wont work anymore.

Their's nothing really wrong with the seagate.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 11:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

I would defiantly keep the Seagate.
__________________

Erich K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.