Help on Computer Purchase - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 10:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default Help on Computer Purchase

Hey everybody,

I'm just looking for a little advice here. In January, I purchased a computer for 500 dollars.
The specs are as follows:

AMD Athlon XP2200+ , 1.8 GHz
256MB PC2700 DDR
52x CDRw
80GB Hard Drive
64MB AGP Video
10/100 NIC / Sound / 56k
Floppy / Keybd / Optical Mouse / Spk
WinXP Pro and Norton Antivirus
1 Year Parts & Labor

So, there were a lot of issues I won't get into, but, the only crucial information for this post is that I did not get an AMD Athlon XP2200+ , 1.8 GHz processor. Instead, I rec'd AMD Duron 1.2 Ghz (which, inside it says it's a 2200+, so maybe it's a AMD Duron XP2200+, 1.2 GHz processor). I also rec'd 80 GB because 60 GM was not available the time.

The time has passed for returns and because I paid via paypal(the owner claimed his credit card machine was down), getting a refund through my credit card company is near impossible because 1) I have no proof of an attempted return and 2) the credit card company would investigate paypal, not the store I bought it from.

So, my only real concern is 1) I don't want to lose money on this investment 2) when I click on the icons, there is a delay in how long it takes for the application to start up.

I talked with the owner and he still claims to not have AMD Athlon 1.8. He claims he's losing money on this and I basically bought the system at cost.

He has offered 2 solutions:

1) He'll give me an additional 256 MB in memory and overclock the 1.2 Duron.

2) He'll give me a Sempron 2400+ 1.8GHz, but it will cost me an additional $40.

Additionally, I can continue to fight the good fight, but the truth is it looks like I'm not going to win.

So, is $540 a lot for this kind of computer? Should I instead take the extra memory?

The only thing I'm looking for is to not overpay and to make sure when I click on an icon, it comes up quickly. These delays are a bit absurd.

Your advice is much needed and much appreciated.
__________________

surplusbc is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well #1 have you reinstalled the OS since he has gave it to you?

I would go with the ram, since 256 isnt enough for today's PC's
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 10:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

tell him to give you the sempron for free or you will sue him for false advertisement.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Regarding the memory... I'm told it's cheaper for me to get more memory than trying to buy a Sempron 2400+, or, by overclocking the Duron 1.2.

Regarding suing... either this guy has b*lls of steel, or he is a great thief. I've put big threats in front of him and he didn't budge. Right now, my credit card company refunded my money, pending an investigation, but since I paid via paypal (owner said his cc machine was down), the credit card company has to investigate paypal, not the owner.

I'm just trying to recover any loss. If you had a Duron 1.2 and 256 MB Ram, would you opt to pay 40 bucks to get Sempron 1.8 Ghz, or, take the RAM. The boot up is slow and if I try to open up 3 IE's simultaneously, it takes awhile for all 3 windows to be open and functioning.

I haven't tried to re-install the OS, but I will once the investigation is closed. I don't want to make it faster if it's going to help the owner out.

How's the pricing? By that I mean, the specs I wrote, plus the new Sempron for a total of $540.
surplusbc is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Terribly for 600 we can build a new PC

Good luck with getting that guy
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Just out of curiosity, my total was $540 for the following new computer:

AMD Sempron XP2400+ , 1.8 GHz
256MB PC2700 DDR
52x CDRw
80GB Hard Drive
64MB AGP Video
10/100 NIC / Sound / 56k
Floppy / Keybd / Mouse / Spk
WinXP Pro and Norton Antivirus
1 Year Parts & Labor

What could you have done for 600?
surplusbc is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

A good SKT A mobile, maybee NF7
AMD 2400+ \ 2500+ mobile and OC it to compete witha 3.6 GHZ p4
2x 512 Meg VALUE RAM PC3200, you have your FSB up with the ram and use the multiplier for the CPU
a 6600GT
Some hard drive
Cheap case
Thermaltake TD-420 AD
10/100 NIC on mobo

Monitor and OS are up to you
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Great. Way to make me feel like an idiot.
surplusbc is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i built
1.8ghz p-4
1gig ram
fx 5600 ultra eVGA
80gig hdd
5 case fans
aspire x-infinity
450w generic psu

built the whole thing for $510
overclocked to 2.3ghz and gfx card is at 500mhz/850mhz

so ya i think you got ripped off
i wouldnt have paid more than 350 for that
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 02:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by surplusbc
Great. Way to make me feel like an idiot.
Eh you didnt get totally scammed

We all have bought something for more than we should have at one time or another, considering it comes with XP PRO as long as it's not pirated that's a decent deal.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.