HELP! Comp died while on Vacation!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 01:00 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default

Thanks for the help everyone...tomorrow I'll go to a place I know and find a stick of RAM. Is it evident that the RAM is the cause of the problem?

Meaning, could there be something in the system causing RAM to go bad?
__________________

__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I really doubt if anything in your system could cause the ram to go bad the power supply keeps the power regulated so you don't get power spikes.So if its bad ram its just bad.I buy Kingston have for years I even buy the value ram and Ive never had a bad stick of ram.There are ram testers out there.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bengance
Is it evident that the RAM is the cause of the problem?

Meaning, could there be something in the system causing RAM to go bad?
If the voltage setting is too high that could cause problems but you should know unless you never check your bios when installing hardware.
m1thotyn is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 04:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

Off the topic a little bit here...
Is there a significant difference in performance between pc2700 & pc3200 RAM? If so is it noticable?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 05:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I actually think it's the video card
if the RAM were faulty, chances are your PC won't even POST, and therefore you won't get any beeps.
the reason being, is that your system requires working RAM to load anything at all, even POSTing requires loading data to RAM

try reseating the video card, or if you have a spare lying around, try that and see if it works at all
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

check the RAM check very closly...yesterday I couldent boot mine and I cleaned my ram but nothing happened but I took it back out and found a small dust particle.
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:00 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default

apokalipse,

Sorry if I wasn't clear...it doesn't POST at all. Sorry if I confused you.

wongb18c,
I'm not sure my mobo can even handle either you asked about. According to MSI's specs, it can take only PC1600 or PC2100 184 Pin DIMM DDR. Link to specs

Can anyone recommend a brand or type (looking for probably 512 MB)? I need this soon so I'll be shopping retail brick and mortar.
__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 11:31 AM   #18 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by m1thotyn
Let me add from what i've heard already i'd predict there being a 3, maybe 5% chance of it not being the RAM, its got me thinking off topic abit.

In the last year and a half I've had the following sticks go bad (all but 1 replaced by warantee)

1xMushkin (my ram)
2xCorsair
1xKingston
1xBuffalo

Thats 2 dead sticks in 1 and a half years (1 corsair was DOA, the other died while i waited for the replacement to arrive... funny....) and 3 with errors.

wtf is wrong with RAM manufacturers?
That sound like a bad board. I had one mobo that kept killing hard drives
EricB is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 12:09 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 28
Default

Nah i'm just very unlucky
m1thotyn is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:06 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default

Well thanks everyone for the suggestions.... here's my status now:
  • I've cleaned and groomed my mobo
  • I've reseated my old ram
  • I've tried without ram (I hope that was okay)
  • I've tried new RAM

Unfortunately, nothing changed. The only thing that happens is the fans go on and the power light and hard drive access light are constant.

I believe it might be my CPU is dead. I've had blue screens in the past and sometimes when playing Halo for PC my CPU temp would get around 60*C.

Also, I've noticed my CPU fan sounds weird and seems to vibrate a little much...I'm not sure if that alone could cause a CPU burnout.

The reason I don't think its the mobo is because the Fans all get power and the keyboard has the ability to numlock on/off.

Any more suggestions? I'd really like some divinutive proof before I replace the CPU. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.