Help choosing ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 02:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Nojtek
Default Help choosing ram

Hey i have a Ktv4 mobo with 512mb of generic pc2700 ram.

Its a little sluggish during games (cs:s) Im sure my problem is my ram. My question would 512 of quality ram be enough for gaming? or do i need a gig?

Also im unsure of weather to go with pc2700 or pc3200. I understand that pc2700 would be best for my system.

But ive been looking at pc3200 ram but i read this

"Supports only 2 banks at 400MHz using two 256MB (single bank) modules or one 512MB (double bank) module."
at kingston.com

and this

"Supports DDR200/266/333/400* memory. *DDR 400 memory support by MSI certified module only Note: DDR400 (PC3200) Max. up to 2 Memory DIMM slots with 4 memory banks only"

I have 3 slots

Wouldnt i be able to use 1 stick of 1gb pc3200 with my board

any help is appreciated.
__________________

Nojtek is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yes, you need one gig

btw, what video card are you using

since cs:s takes about 225kb load (i think), having 256 will screw you over pretty bad
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Nojtek
Default

I have a geforce 5600fx 256mb
i have 512
Im not sure if my comp will support a gig of pc3200
Nojtek is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

just get another stick of 512 then, the pc3200 will revert back to pc2700 and underclock itself to fit the mobo's top speeds

btw, ur video card is kinda old
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Nojtek
Default

ya i kno but it still should be able to run cs:s with all settings on low

I understand that the mobo speed and the ram speed are independent of eachother

either way i can't go on using the cheap ram im using. its pc2700 but its generic was very cheap
Nojtek is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

depends on how much you are willing to spend

for really high end RAM, I would suggest G.Skill
for high end, but not quite as good, go for PQI or OCZ (they are almost identical)
for average RAM, go for some PC3200 (non-"value") Kingmax has descent inexpensive RAM
for cheap okay RAM, go for some PC3200 value RAM from Kingston or Corsair
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Send a message via ICQ to Nojtek
Default

What about gigaram?
Nojtek is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 07:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Honestly if your looking for a ram upgrade, get basicly anything, you dont seem to be an overclocker.

Never heard of gigaram, but samsung and corsair value select are good RAM in your price range.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.