Help to choose grafic card. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2004, 05:23 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Somebodey asked about adding more RAM.
Now I use one stick of PC133 128Mb and two sticks of PC100 64MB.

So, in the cloasest time I'll buy new hard disk (80GB 7200rpm 8Mb buffer), one stick of PC133/100 256Mb RAM, and new video card:-)

I'll replace new 256Mb memory stick with one of 64Mb sticks (I have only 3 memory slots). So I'll have 256-64+256=448Mb of RAM:-)


And about vid.card: How much memory does GeForce4 TI 200/4200 and GeForce3 TI have? And does the GeForce3 TI is really more preferable than GeForce4 MX?

I also thought, maby it olso good idea to try one of ATI's cards?

Thanks
-AndreiD
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 07:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

By the way, I don't want to spent more then $250 on all these upgades. ($100 for hard disk, $60-$70 for RAM, and the rest $80-$90 goes to vieo card.)
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 10:16 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smartech
Somebodey asked about adding more RAM.
Now I use one stick of PC133 128Mb and two sticks of PC100 64MB.

So, in the cloasest time I'll buy new hard disk (80GB 7200rpm 8Mb buffer), one stick of PC133/100 256Mb RAM, and new video card:-)

I'll replace new 256Mb memory stick with one of 64Mb sticks (I have only 3 memory slots). So I'll have 256-64+256=448Mb of RAM:-)


And about vid.card: How much memory does GeForce4 TI 200/4200 and GeForce3 TI have? And does the GeForce3 TI is really more preferable than GeForce4 MX?

I also thought, maby it olso good idea to try one of ATI's cards?

Thanks
-AndreiD
Ok, sounds good, the RAM will make an unbelievable change.

As for the video card, the Geforce3 TI should be better than the MX, and as for ATI's cards, im not for sure since I havent tried many of their earlier cards.

Good luck, hope everything goes well!
Chubz is offline  
Old 05-17-2004, 10:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

I hope too! Once I used celleron 433Mhz with 64 Mb RAM only, and when I added 64Mb more, the perfomance improved greatly!!!
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-18-2004, 03:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smartech


And about vid.card: How much memory does GeForce4 TI 200/4200 and GeForce3 TI have? And does the GeForce3 TI is really more preferable than GeForce4 MX?

I also thought, maby it olso good idea to try one of ATI's cards?

Anyone have any more opinions?
Please post.
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 05-19-2004, 06:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

my machine (in my sig) is 500MHZ and has a TNT2 video card
I can pull about 30fps in Counter-strike
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 04:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Talking FINALLY!!!

HI! Few days before I bought new video card, FINALLY!!!
I searched for TI cards a lot of time, but it already out of market (at least, I didn't find anyone). So at the end I bought the ABIT's nVidia GeForce FX 5200 128 MB card, it cost me only 100 $. I also bought new hard drive, Western Digital 80 GB 7200 rpm 8 MB buffer.

So now I can even play Need For Speed Underground, GTA 3, Homeworld 2, Hitman 2, and other games smoothly at highest resolutions!!!


Anyway, It is a Great feeling now, to play Great games on this, pretty old computer!
And thank you all for help!


-AndreiD
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.