Help at buying new computer, please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2005, 06:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default Help at buying new computer, please

I need some recommendations for good single Opteron hardware.

I want to use ECC memory, 1GB would be enough.

I think 1.8Ghz Opteron is fast enough, does 2xx series work in single processor mode?

I would be thankfull if you could throw in a list of what kind motherboard, processor, memory and perhaps powersupply is required.

I require some things from motherboard:
Serial ATA Raid, USB 2.0 (2 ports are enough)
3x PCI 32bit slot
AGP 8x Slot
Support for Zalman CNPS7000 Kühler would be great.
And ATI graphics card with Zalman VGA cooler would be nice to fit the board.
You could recommend some other great coolers you know which would fit.

I have about $1000 budget and Im planning to use my existing case and graphic card and perhaps my powersupply
(550w ATX12v)
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

I know there are someone with opteron configuration.
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 03:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

So you want to build a server?
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Actually I want to build a high end desktop and workstation.
Opteron is cheaper than Athlon FX and I would imagine its more powerfull than Athlon 64 with same speed.
And ECC memory would add great stability, not many 939 boards offer ECC support.

Is it justifiable to buy opteron for common use, I do gaming only very little, surf a lot in internet and use word processing and such.
I do some 3D modeling also and want to use my existing AGP 8x card.
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 07:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Umm I think the reason they use ECC memory is because it is more reliable for long term use. Those servers are up all day every week, so they don't want the memory to be crappy. Regular memory and a regular setup will be fine if your not leaving your computer on all day doing number crunching.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 02:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Well the thing is, my computer is always on

Usually it lasts 3 days tops until it crashes..

Maybe with ECC memory it wouldnt.
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 02:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Are you sure thats a memory problem? Maybe you overclocked it a little too much.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 04:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Can't be that.
I haven't overclocked it.
CPU temp is 40 Celcius and motherboard is 37.
__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 05:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what OS are you using currently? 98 and 95 have stability issues that generally make a pc crash after a few days to a week of running, or so i am told.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:32 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tuskatappaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Finland (Winland)
Posts: 163
Default

Win XP Pro
__________________

__________________
\"Lähimmäisenrakkaus on huoraamista!\"
Tuskatappaja is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.