Help With Bios Update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2006, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default Help With Bios Update

I installed a sony dru-820a dvd dual layer burner. However it is extremely slow. I think I may need to upgrade my bios. I went into system information and found the following:

BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. VA84510A.86A.0023.P08.0309261501,
9/26/2003

I can't seem to find a place to upgrade my bios, and am not sure how to proceed with finding a secure update for my bios.

Can anyone help?
__________________

smokeydvd is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 08:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Here is information on my dvd burner...it looks like I have installed it fine.

Drive D:
Description CD-ROM Drive
Media Loaded No
Media Type CD-ROM
Name SONY DVD RW DRU-820A
Manufacturer (Standard CD-ROM drives)
Status OK
Transfer Rate Not Available
SCSI Target ID 1
PNP Device ID IDE\CDROMSONY_DVD_RW_DRU-820A____________________1.0B____\5&31BE0435&0&0.1. 0
Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys (5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158), 48.38 KB (49,536 bytes), 8/29/2002 8:00 AM)
__________________

smokeydvd is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Check for a firmware upgrade first.

There's one available for your model.
http://sony.storagesupport.com/dvdrw/firmware.htm#820a
Make sure you click the one for your model.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Help With Bios Update

Quote:
Originally posted by smokeydvd
I installed a sony dru-820a dvd dual layer burner. However it is extremely slow. I think I may need to upgrade my bios. I went into system information and found the following:

BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. VA84510A.86A.0023.P08.0309261501,
9/26/2003

I can't seem to find a place to upgrade my bios, and am not sure how to proceed with finding a secure update for my bios.

Can anyone help?
What read and write speeds are you getting?

You can benchmark your drive using the following tool if you don't know:

http://cdspeed2000.com/go.php3?link=dvdspeed.html
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

and also, the type of media plays a role in the speed it can write
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 12:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

Its probably new firmware.

The japanese like to release programming that very faulty.
Thats why many people have a myth about japan being more electronically advanced because they release buggy hardware before proper testing.

Sony is very known for this, so i recommend that you avoid sony products. Many people in the cs world know this.
Two example of how poor quality hardware they deliver is the 2.4x problem on DL drives, and the cheap ccd problem.

The slugginess of the drive may be the spoolup/read.
My pioneer 110 also has this, i upgraded the firmware and it runs a little faster...but it always wrote verbatim dls just fine.....
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 12:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

found out the problem was that my HD had a slow cable hooking it up to the motherboard. Replaced it with a high speed ide cable and now my drive and comp work amazing. Thanks for the replies though.
smokeydvd is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 01:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

? i aint never heard of that. slow/high speed ide cable? jeez, i thought there was just 1 / 2 component ide cables, heck my cables came from the late 90's but it runs great!
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.