HELP! BIOS Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2004, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default HELP! BIOS Problem

Aright.....well first off I swear to god only this stupid **** happens to me. I went into my case and removed the tornado fan because yeah its a bit loud for my liking as a case fan. after I get all the fans switched back to the way I had it. I try to start up my computer. Power goes to it......but nothin happens....no beeps....no POST no nothin.... I jump the CMOS to clear it and then the lovely little BEEP that says my computer is starting up was there....went into the BIOS changed everything back, started up... Shut it down because I needed to attach some things....Tried starting it back up...nothin again. I jump the CMOS this morning and I'm able to get into the BIOS, halfway through changing options, the keyboard stops working so I gotta restart and upon restart once again, computer is powered up but no BEEP to signal the POST no CORECELL picture on startup it just sits there. I jumped the CMOS again and this time it beeped once, shows the corecell picture, then just stays on that...the corecell picture is at the VERY beginning of bootup, it shows that screen right before post. I've only had this motherboard since april and its ****ing bull**** that I remove a fan and now the thing goes haywire.

So at this point I have no clue what to do. System was perfectly fine when I installed the tornado and moved stuff around. I move it back and now the computer fires up with all fans moving but doesn't POST, doesn't beep nothing. I haven't changed any BIOS settings, I wasn't overclocking, nothing like that.

PLEASE for the love of god I would love anyones suggestions if they have it. I have no clue what to do at this point besides buy another damn motherfuggin motherboard. =(
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Make sure you havent unseated any of the hardware.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I've unplugged and replugged everything back in. I always double or even triple check my connections
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Maybe you fried something dude.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah already on my mind, which is ridiculous. I can't figure out how the hell I could have possibly fried something. I always unplug the power from the power supply and turn the switch off before I even unplug the thing. I always ground myself before touching the electrical stuff. I've never felt a shock. My dad said he found two hairs laying on the board..........I feel retarded possibly claiming my board was fried from a couple hairs on it.. That sound like a possibility to anyone?
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

No but just because you didnt feel it doesnt mean it didnt happen. If you got some spare parts laying around i suggest you start switching your parts for known good parts. It'll at least narrow out the possibility. Hopefully its something else though...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ok well oddly enough....my dad saw two hairs lying in there and he removed them. Me being highly pessimistic I was like 'riiiight like two hairs was really the whole problem' So he removes the hairs and puts my case back on (my dad knows NOTHING about computers) he asked if I wanted it closed I said 'sure what the hell, I need to connect another fan but if it doesn't work oh well it doesn't matter' went to start it up for ****s and giggles and low and behold I'm able to get into the BIOS, change my settings from default, and load into windows......now the only thing is though. I'm afraid to shut it down or restart cause this might be a fluke thing =/ but I need to get that fan connected sometime....so yeah I don't know. Maybe it was a hair, sound like a possibility?
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Not likely, but anything can happen. Such as those two hairs being super-charged with electricity. Haha.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Good god man.....you won't believe it. Ever since the hairs were removed....its worked. When he first removed them it booted up allowing me to get into the BIOS then from there went into windows....I did a restart....computer restarted fine...so time for the ultimate test....SHUTTING DOWN!! So I shut it down, re-connected the fan that had been disconnected.....terrified as hell went to turn the computer back on and VOILA! Still POST'd and booted into windows......moral of the story......wear a hairnet when working with your computer =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Hahahahaha. Man, i dont know all about that. Im sure it was a hellofa coincidence. Two small hairs preventing a computer from posting correctly?Sounds insane. You should google it and see if its a common occurance...
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.