help bios flash noob getting in a muddle :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

raindogg

Beta member
Hi I am new to the terrifing world of flashing bios so please bear with me.

As the title suggests I am about to flash my bios, I have downloaded the right bios update for my board (Sl-K8TPro-939) from driverscollection.com and created a backup floppy with my old bios saved to it and created a ms-dos floppy with AWDFLASH.EXE and sk893916.bin and then went into bios to reset it to defaults, the only option I could find in bios was "load optimized defaults" so this is what I selected.

My problem is after resetting my bios to "optimized defaults" my old onboard stuff such as audio, ethenet and raid have been switched back on and are showing as question marked items in my device manager so my questions are;

should I remove my sound card and ethernet card and install drivers for my onboard ones before I proceed? will conflicts that could trip up the flash process happen if I don't?

Do I need to do anything about my raid controller needing drivers as I only have 1 HD and I understood you only need raid for multiple HDs

I am stuck as I need to update my bios as I have a dual core chip I want to install but my present bios doesn't support dual core so if anyone could please help I would be very grateful

thank you for your time

Rain :s

Did you sucessfuly flash it? Your board's manufacturer should give instructions on how to do it.

If you are not using onboard devices, you can disable them in BIOS.

a raid controller does not need drivers.

thank you for responding