*Help!!!* Any suggestions welcome... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2005, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Angry *Help!!!* Any suggestions welcome...

OK, I've just purchased a new CPU, an AMD 64 3500+ S939, & Mobo, an Asus A8V Deluxe. All of the rest of my setup is the same as below.

So far I've connected the CPU (obviously), HD, DVD drives, floppy drive, graphics card, RAM and all fans. Motherboard's LED light is green to go, and all fans are spinning...

The problem is I'm not getting any video. Just a black screen when I boot up. One long "Beeeeep" comes from the Mobo's speaker (not sure whet exactly this means, other than it's an error of some sort).

I've tried resetting CMOS, but to no avail.

I'm tired, strained and can't think straight lol


So, any suggestions are welcome....
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 32
Default

check your graphics card as i believe the one long beep refers to video loss
__________________

CJC1055 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

have you put the power conector to it, as this is one of the things I forgot to connect. this gave a long beep.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

I've checked the seating of the card, and the molex power connector. Both are fine.

The card itself fine too, as I'm using it on my old rig right now.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 32
Default

does the mb have onboard video?

Is the card agp, pci, pci-e?
CJC1055 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

It's AGP, as in the sig

No, the mobo doesn't have onboard video...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Well if it were me and i'm sure you've already tried this but I would just make sure all the connections are good and that all cards, mem, is seated correctly and then try a diff video card
CJC1055 is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

From what I gather a contnuos beep is a sign of a bad PSU. See sig....

If anyone else owns a JSP Sprite PSU, please contact me ( )...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 04:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Make sure that your AGP Graphics Card is compatible with the AGP standard of your motherboard... .

Also, make sure the RAM isn't fussy, and is completely compatible.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-18-2005, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to millerhighlife_
Default

I would unplug everything and then plug it all back in, take ram out and put in two different slots, etc.. That has fixed problems for me before b/c something wasn't pluged in or what not just right.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.4Ghz for sale $75
Radeon 9800pro for sale $100
----------------------------------
My New Rig - Soon to be Oc\'ed
----------------------------------
Raidmax Case w/ Crappy 420w Psu
AMD64 3200+ Winchester
eVGA 6800 GT 256mb GDDR3
MSI K8N Neo2 Platnium
512 x 2 Corsair XMS-3200 Xtreme
Thermaltake Silent Boost CPU Fan
80GB 7,200rpm 8mb cache SATA HDD
Logitech Z-5300 THX Certified 5.1
------------------------------
3dmark05 - 5,110
3dmark03 - 11,119
Aquamark3 - 64,745
millerhighlife_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.