HELP Antec True Control 550 Power Supply and SLI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2005, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default HELP Antec True Control 550 Power Supply and SLI

Hey guys, I wanted to know if antecs TRUE CONTROL 550 power supply can work with two 6800 ultras in SLI mode. I bought it and have already had to buy an adapter so it could be 24 pin instead of 20 pin to power the mobo. Now i'm having trouble with my video cards, how do I setup this power supply to power my 6800 ultras?
__________________

theor is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Use the adapters the Ultras came with and use 'em to power the Ultras.
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default

yeah, the thing is.. even the evga box says they need their own power connectors but i've ran out, so if I connect it to other pins connected to lets say the HD or cd-rom drives will the power be less than needed?
theor is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

use a new psu that's known to support SLI jus to be safe
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Send a message via AIM to theor
Default

guess I just wasted $100 then, damn.. figured the 550 watts was all I needed to look for.
theor is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

the antec true 550 watt is a great PSU and should work with a pair of ultras. u can try the cables running off of the HDD and the optical drives. cant hurt.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.