help with amd64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2004, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default help with amd64

im more of an intel person, so i know barely anything about amd64 . . .

anyways, a buddy of mine wants to build an amd64 based rig, and we were wondering what should be the minimum amd64 cpu for gaming (not INTENSE), just regular gaming
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The minimum they sell (AMD64) is the 2800+ (1.8 Ghz) and that is more than enough if you are not going to be gaming with intensity. The two most important factors (for gaming) are the GPU and RAM.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 09:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

and what about the cores?

which is better? newcastle or clawhammer?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 10:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

is it like intel, with northwood and prescott?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 10:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Clawhammer is better, it features more L2 cache
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 02:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koldapu
is it like intel, with northwood and prescott?
No, its nothing like Northwood and Prescott , choosing these between Clawhammer and Newcastle is pretty much personal preference . Some have had both and say newcastle is better others have had both and say clawhammer is better .
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 02:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Newcastle's are the later core's, and are apparently more overclockable

these days a lot of people spend more money on their graphics card than their CPU

I reccomend a 3000+ as the benchmarks show the 2800+ to be very crippled in performance compared to the 3000+
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 01:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

i agree 3000+ minimum and i would go with the clawhammer core
although rated slower it has twice as much LVL2 cache
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 05:14 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

yea go with the AMD Athlon 64 3000+ unless ur lookin to upgrade somethin else extreme too..
then u might want to get the AMD Athlon 64 2800+
__________________

__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.