Help! AMD Athlon XP Hiccups! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2004, 10:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Exclamation Help! AMD Athlon XP Hiccups!

I just built a computer for my brother (which doesn't live with me). It's basically an Athlon XP + Win XP Pro system (full specs see below). Sometimes the machine runs smooth for a whole computing session, but sometimes, suddenly, without any obvious cause, the machine "hiccups" ("hiccup" will be defined below). Once it occured directly after I logged in, once it happened after I clicked file->save in notepad, once in the middle of a program installation, and also in other events that don't seem have a relation with each other. When the machine hiccups, here's what happens:

- When I open task manager to view the CPU usage graph (update speed set to high), the graph jumps up and down with a very short period (like 0% - 38% - 0% - 38% - 0% - ...) producing a sharp and edgy graph, like a seismograph recording an earthquake. This still happens even after I close all processes under my user name (except explorer and taskmgr). Although in the "performace" tab I can see the CPU usage graph jumping up and down, there doesn't seem to be a process in the "processes" tab that consumes 38% of CPU usage every now and then. The "processes" tab shows that the "system idle process" consumes 99% or 100% of the CPU usage, while other processes like "scvhost" is listed as consuming 0% of the CPU usage.
- The hard disk LED blinks on and off, with every "on" corresponding to the peak (38%) of the CPU usage graph.
- Something inside my CPU case makes a very faint "beep" noise, with every "beep" corresponding to the peak (38%) of the CPU usage graph. It's definitely not the PC Speaker making noise since I have none.
- The system halts/pauses periodically, with every pause corresponding to the peak (38%) of the CPU usage graph. If you move your mouse cursor round and round, the movement will be like this: moving - stopping - moving - stopping - moving - stopping - ...

With the periodical pauses (around every second), the system is clearly uncomfortable for any further use. The only solution (which I have found) is to restart the computer. It will be normal until the computer randomly hiccups again. PS: When I check the CPU temperature in the BIOS, it shows 39-40 degrees Celcius.

Here's the specs:

ECS KT600-A (VIA KT600 Chipset) (Sound, LAN, SATA RAID onboard)
AMD Athlon XP 2000+ FSB 133
Visipro PC2700 DDR SDRAM 512 MB
Pixelview GeForce4MX440 64 MB AGP 8X
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 40 GB (Primary Master)
LG CDROM 52X (Primary Slave)
Panasonic FDD
350 W PSU
ATX Tower Case with 4 fans
Coolermaster CPU Cooler (forgot the type)

I disabled the SATA RAID controller from my BIOS.

Here's some of the softwares I installed:

Windows XP Professional + SP1
DirectX 9.0b
ForceWare 53.03
VIA 4in1 4.51v
Drivers for my LAN Card & Sound Card
NAV 2003 Professional

Some blunders when building the computer:

- The Coolermaster CPU cooler had a thermal paste on it. Accidentally I wiped around 1/4 of it. I didn't have any thermal paste so I proceeded using the "unperfect" cooler.
- I seemed to have streched the IDE interface cable when I was trying to unplug it from the hard disk (I was trying to move the hard disk to another slot in the CPU case).

So, do you guys have a word on this problem? Do you think this is a hardware or a software problem?

My brother was very excited when he was going to get a new computer. I really didn't want to give him a period of nightmare, frustation, and dissapointment. I need your help guys...

Thank you very much.

Agro Rachmatullah.

agro_rachmatull is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

System Idle Process is how much CPU resources are free

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

I think this is most likely a software or driver problem
it could possibly be:
a virus/program is stuffing with the system
your BIOS/drivers are not up to date
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.