Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 03:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default Help!

Why do my icons and start menu look like this?
__________________

d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You have a serious graphics or motherboard issue I am sorry to say

Post up the icon pictures to make sure a virus did not corrupt them or something
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 03:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Try re-installing your Forceware (graphics card) drivers, if you haven't already done so...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

yeah ive tried reinstalling forceware drivers.. even different versions.. it seems to happen when i get service pack 2 of windows xp.. ill try the drivers now with service pack one.
d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Do a format, and then see if it is sorted. Is it happening for anything else, like cs:s or hl2?
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 04:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

everytime i format its normal but when i put service pack 2 on .. it goes crazy like that.
d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 07:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

I posted a story and link for a fix that might help you.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...854#post358854
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 11:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Default

thx.. that helped.
d4rkn355 is offline  
Old 04-08-2005, 12:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

No problem.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.