Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2005, 08:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default Help!

Alright, I opened my case this morning to clean out some of the dust. I did not mess with anything. I go to boot it up and the power comes on but thats it. I does not load anything. My monitor button turns that amber color like the box is not on. I am getting nothing. I turn it on and it powers up and thats it? WHAT THE HECK?

It says on the monitor when I push a button on the monitor. In Power Save Mode. Press a button to whatever. I push a button and nothing happens
__________________

__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 09:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Reseat the memory and the video card. Then post back.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default

^^^^How do I do that?
Now I got a bigger problem, I decided to unplug and plug it back and and now I push the power button and it will not ever power up or turn on
__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 09:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default

Anybody out there? Need some serious help
__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 10:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Take the connectors out and replug them in

If that doesnt work, you static zapped something in your PC, and we dont have a fix for that.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default

ah, I cant see how I could have damaged the HD because of static, I did not even get near it.
__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 11:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Take the connectors out and replug them in

If that doesnt work, you static zapped something in your PC, and we dont have a fix for that.
I doubt the problem is that serious. Simply remove your RAM and video card and put them back in. Then make sure all of your power connectors are connected and the power supply is turned on. If that doesn't work, post back.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 01:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default

I did it, I tell you one thing, the video card is a b to get back in along with the blank shots and making it tight. Anyway nothing happened, I power up and get, nothing unless I press a button on the monitor it says Power management mode.



Another thing is that my keyboard nor mouse work (have power)
__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 02:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Something is unplugged or fried, are you getting power to your mobo? check to see if it has a green light?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 02:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 49
Default

^^ yeah there is power, the green light is on, one of my CD-R Drives will open if I press the button.
__________________

__________________
Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor with HT Technology 3.0, 512MB RAM( as of right now)
OS: XP Professional, Fedora Core 3
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200
Analog Devices ADI 198x Integrated Audio

registered linux user #383139
s10237 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.