Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 03:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to darksenate78
Default Help!

So i took out my hard drive to take a look at it, put it back in, and want to start my pc back up

all things fire up, processor, vid card, hd, etc, but i have nothing going to my monitor

i did the retard checklist of monitor power and linkage

i dont know what to do
__________________

__________________
Gigabyte - 7N400L - nVIDIA nForce2
AMD Athlon XP3000+
PNY Verto GeForce FX 5900se Video Card / 128MB / AGP 8x
AC-97 Sound
Kingston Dual Channel 512MB PC2700 DDR 333MHz Memory
Western Digital 160GB
Diablo ATX Mid-Tower Case with 450Watt Power Supply
Ultra All Copper up to XP 3200+ CPU Cooling Fan
Sony DRU530A DVD Burner
darksenate78 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

look at hard drive once again

check your data cable properly inserted.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 05:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah, could be something as simple as the IDE's just need to be plugged in again....

If that doesn't work then you need to remove everything from the motherboard except the CPU, power switch and PC speaker....turn on the computer, if it beeps, stick in the RAM, if it beeps, put in the Video card, if it doesn't do anything then it could be the CPU or Motherboard itself...
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to darksenate78
Default

Well, before you guys posted, I redid the "Stupidity" checklist and found that I was able to fix it by just wiggling plugs and making sure they were secure.

Thank you guys for your input back on this.
__________________
Gigabyte - 7N400L - nVIDIA nForce2
AMD Athlon XP3000+
PNY Verto GeForce FX 5900se Video Card / 128MB / AGP 8x
AC-97 Sound
Kingston Dual Channel 512MB PC2700 DDR 333MHz Memory
Western Digital 160GB
Diablo ATX Mid-Tower Case with 450Watt Power Supply
Ultra All Copper up to XP 3200+ CPU Cooling Fan
Sony DRU530A DVD Burner
darksenate78 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.