Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2004, 08:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default Help

hey guys,

since no one really answers in the overclocking forums i will ask here

i have an nvidia 6800
i have read that peple have overclocked it to like 400/800 from 325/700

should i do that directly or in small increments like the kangaroo FAQ says?
__________________

__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 08:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Err, small increments!! All cards are different, some will clock to way above their spec, others won't go 5mhz above it.
__________________

dodgem is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 11:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

yeah to backup what dodgem says go with the small increments at a time
jaksback is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 11:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Small incriments, because you are way more likely to run into trouble if you do it all at once, because you could do too much. All cards are different, and some can handle allot more than others.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 04:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

yea but doesnt it take like 2 hours to find out if its stable or not?
__________________
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Did anyone tell you overclocking was quick and easy? Running 3Dmark will show any errors, especially in nature test - you'll see white sparkles on the water, or patches where textures are corrupt. As long as you're not getting any artifacts then you can push it a bit further. When you get sparklies or anything that shouldn't be there, back off the o/c a bit (core or memory) and then let 3dmark loop for a couple hours and see if it behaves.

It's all trial and error though so can't give you any fast rules to stick by except don't push too far too quick!
dodgem is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You have to raise the frequency in small increments for two reasons.

Each time the frequencies are raised, you want to ensure stability by running a visual demanding application, such as 3DMark (as mentioned above). You want to do this to catch any artifacts that may occur.

The second reason you want to raise the frequencies in small increments, is to prevent heat stress. You want the hardware (specifically the GPU), to adapt to the amount of heat that it will be subjected to.

Remember, safe overclocking takes time and patience.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.