Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2004, 08:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default Help

A friend of mine needs help. He started his computer and went to dos and typed a:\format c: \s and wiped his entire hard drive. Then typed fdisk deleted the partition and created another one. He was trying to put win98se. When he restarts he just gets atapi cd rom failed and thats it. How does he get his system up and running again.
__________________

Benny is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 08:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

reload the operating system
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default

Ok he got the startup menu and chose with cd support. and at the end brought him to a:\ wat next
Benny is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

a:/ setup

if i remmeber right installs operating system.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default

when he gets to a:\ after it loaded cd drivers wat does he do next. c drive is empty.
Benny is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

you type fast

setup
Deadguy is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default

on a:\ or d:\
Benny is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Send a message via AIM to yashar
Default

i had a problem like this. you have to insert a startup disk first. then type A:/help ..........no .exe or anything. then there are alot of things that will help you with booting. i had a Win98 SE cd and i selected boot with cd-rom support. it asks you before you get to DOS. then it took me to DOS and i typed my cd-rom drive and setup.exe.... for (example........ E:/setup.exe)
yashar is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default

Ok typed a:\setup and then got this

Please wait while setup initializes.
Scanning system registry...
Windows setup requires 7340032 bytes avail

Wat now?
Benny is offline  
Old 03-18-2004, 09:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 65
Default

Nothing happens so I will try E:\setup.exe and let you know wat happenses but I think I got the same response when I tried it with E:\
__________________

Benny is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.