Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2004, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default Help

I have a Compaq presario. and i was wondering if i can do any mods to it, and if i can get a case for it as well.
__________________

amac is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

whats wrong with the case it has now? You can do a lot with them. It's just making what you have there work for you. Cut the case, add a cool design, paint it, add some lights... Water cool it and overclock it too...
But I think that will void any warrenty you might have...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default

nothing is wrong with the case, i was wondering about computer mods, and i was wondering if u can get a new case for, and how u can tell what size case it is.
amac is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default

also wanted to know how hard it is to make a blow hole
amac is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

our imagination is really the limit as far as mods go...
But you can find a new case, most of the compaq pesario's were ATX, so an ATX case will work. Size shouldn't be an issue, unless it is really big. And midtower will work for you. That is unless the system has a "special board" that fits in a certain way, like with riser cards.
To tell, you have to look at the back of your current case. If all of the ports are in a group, the PS2 ports are stacked, the USB are next to them, serial, onboard video (if present), onboard sound (if present) Parallel port are in a group... That is basic ATX design. If on the other hand, you have a row of ports running along one edge and then have more ports where PCI cards ussually are, it is a proprietary design. MTX or something like that...
Here is a link to a PDF that shows on Page 15 the ATX standard...
http://www.formfactors.org/developer/specs/atx2_2.pdf
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default

ok cuz my ports and other things like that when u look at the back they run down the left side of the back and the PCI slots are at the bottom so i dont know if that will help...
amac is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

What is the model of Compaq you have? I will see if I can find out more for you...
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default

s4010cl
amac is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

If the documentation that HP has for this machine is correct, you have an ATX Motherboard. That should be fine to transfer to any atx case you choose.
Inaris is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Hay dude i owe u man thanks a bunch, i just have another wuick question, is ablwo hole hard ot make. and is it possible to cut the panel and use lexan as the window
__________________

amac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.