Heatsink Problem:Monitor not reacting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2004, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default Heatsink Problem:Monitor not reacting

ok, now...my computer was working perfectly fine, but it would restart in games, so i researched it...and it was gettng a little hot, so took it out, and took off the fan, and smeared some thermal compound on there, then put it back on, and it would not start up...the fans would go on, and it sounded like it was runniong, but the monitor did not respond. so went and got bros comp and hooked it up..his worked fine. so i took off the fan and replaced it with mine...still didnt fix my computer, and then switched them back.,..now my bros comp wont work! went up and bought a new motherboard, that didnt work...went up and got a new processor..that didnt change anything, and got a new fan...so im thinking it HAS to be the heatsink....but how am i applying the compound wrong? i put a thin layer on the bottom of the heat sink..then a think layer on the little extended rectangle on the processor...help please.
__________________

PunkGo is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

did u take propper percaution's when fiddling around inside the comp? like unplugging it from the wall outlet, and not working on it ontop of a rug while your wearing sox?
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

well....if ur thinking it would have made some sort of shock, then no there was no shock, i have fiddeled with comp on this rug many times, and nothing has happened yet.
PunkGo is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

note- u cannot see all shocks.. u can only take the proper percautions to avoid damage.
jolancer is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

now, i just realized...arctic 5 is the basic compound used and contains NO silicone...the compound im using, and didnt realize is silicone based...could this be a problem?
PunkGo is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

did u try using the monitor ona different computer, to rule out the monitor as the problem?

wat exactly is not working on your computer... just the monitor? or the cpu fan also? do u hear the HD spin up and do u c the HD LED respond?
--------------------------------------------------
if u alreay ruled out the monitor, try switching the your vid card with your bro's pc, to rule out the vid card.
jolancer is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 09:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

check the fan plug. newer systems, if the fan is not properly plugged, will not start or if they do immediatly shut off. We have some at work where if any of the wires (on these there is a few for power, ground, monitor) it would not boot. also make sure that you didn't somehow ground to the case.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 11:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

u burnt the GPU...
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 12:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

before applying any thermal compund, clean it with isoprophyl alcohol.

and if (assuming u r applying arctic silver or even arctic alumina) a half grain of rice is enough
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 02:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

GPU? what is that. i tested out the monitor, it still works and the fan runs
__________________

PunkGo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.