Heatsink problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default Heatsink problem...

Hi all!
I'm trying to replace my stock heatsink that came with my AMD Sempron with a new heatsink, not a MUCH better one but, you know.

So, I replaced the old heatsink with the new one. And, I powered up my system... then, nothing on the screen, as for the beep, I don't have any speaker. But, on the keyboard the three lights was blinking. So, I thought, damn it! my video card is fryed. So, I changed the video card, same thing. So, I just resigned and changed the heatsink back.

And, the new heatsink is a bit bigger (not the base but the top, the base is the same) but, it doesn't touch anything.

Anyone have any ideas what could do that?
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Default

make sure you you didn't crack the dye. its the silverish rectangle on the top of cpu that heatsink touches. very fragile and brittle.
__________________

lazywarrior is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 08:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Umm... if I would of crack this thing, I woulnd be on this forum right now. I just replaced the new with the old heatsink and it worked back again.
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe you bumped something, like the RAM disk.
try re-seating things and see if it works.

worst case scenario: you might have killed something with static electricity
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
worst case scenario: you might have killed something with static electricity
For the THIRD time I'm gonna say it again... it is working with my old heatsink AFTER that I tried to put the new one! In other words IT IS WORKING WITH THE OLD HEATSINK BUT NOT THE NEW ONE!!!

OK?
Sorry, getting tired to say that!
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe your new heatsink is putting too much force on the CPU
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
maybe your new heatsink is putting too much force on the CPU
You mean maybe it's too thight? That would be fixed by changing the little metal thing that lock your heatsink on the Socket eh?
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 09:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

hmmm...seems weird. since the keyboard lights blinked, the cpu must have wokrd at least partly. did you try changing it several times or just once? maybe you should try again and cross your fingers this time. and make sure the new heatsink is not touchin any other parts (short circuit)

or maybe it's not putting enough force? did it feel secure and tight with the new heatseank?
LoTeX is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LoTeX
hmmm...seems weird. since the keyboard lights blinked, the cpu must have wokrd at least partly. did you try changing it several times or just once? maybe you should try again and cross your fingers this time. and make sure the new heatsink is not touchin any other parts (short circuit)

or maybe it's not putting enough force? did it feel secure and tight with the new heatseank?
Yeah I know that is weird that is why I'm posting it here :P lol

And, as for the force it was putting on it, it was putting a bit more force than the other one.
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

Make sure that the system fan on the heatsink was plugged in all the way. Your motherboard might be freaking out if that isnt plugged in all the way.
__________________

str8lazy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.