Heatsink Not Working - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 08:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Default

No need to go buy a new heatsink. No real need to remove the heatsink. The program you was running probably was giving false readings. resort to the bios for correct temps. Yes there is usally a setting in the bios I think Asus calls theirs Qfan and what that does is speed up slow down the fan according to the temp. even to the point of shutting it off. I disable this feature.
__________________

schusterjo is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 02:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by schusterjo
Yes there is usally a setting in the bios I think Asus calls theirs Qfan and what that does is speed up slow down the fan according to the temp. even to the point of shutting it off. I disable this feature.
Idem here. I disabled QFan on my P5B only 5 minutes after first power up. It was setting the CPU fan to 800rpm, while it should be working more around 2500rpm. CPU idle temps were in the 50s. With QFan disabled, my idle temps are 38ºC-41ºC. Conclusion: QFan sux.

There may be a similar feature on your DS3.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 02:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Have you tried plugging the fan into another header on the board ? (if there is 1) On my old skt 370 Aopen board the header for the cpu was bad and only working once in a blue moon,Switched to a different header and boom!!! worked like a charm
Shumway is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 03:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Meithan
Idem here. I disabled QFan on my P5B only 5 minutes after first power up. It was setting the CPU fan to 800rpm, while it should be working more around 2500rpm. CPU idle temps were in the 50s. With QFan disabled, my idle temps are 38ºC-41ºC. Conclusion: QFan sux.

There may be a similar feature on your DS3.
I don't know what the settings should be, so I'll list what they are, then what I can choose for them.

Reset Case Open Status - Disabled
Options: Disabled, Enabled

CPU Warning Temperature - Disabled
Options: 60c, 70c, 80c, 90c

CPU Fan Fail Warning - Disabled
Options: Disabled, Enabled

System Fan Fail Warning - Disabled ( I don't think this should be on, since the only fans plugged into the mobo is the CPU's
Options: Disabled, Enabled

Fan Speed Control Method - Auto
Options: Auto, Intel(R) QST, Legacy, Disabled

Fan Speed Control Mode - Auto
Options: Auto, Voltage, PWM

My CPU fan speed is almost always either at 0 or between 800-1000, so I don't think that that is right since you said it should be around 2500. Also, Easytune 5 shows a warning sign next to the CPU fan speed.
I tried looking at the temperature in Everest Home again, and the second I opened it in Easy Tune 5 it showed the temperatures shooting up.
__________________

tzvii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.