Heatsink Not Working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2006, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Heatsink Not Working

If I leave my computer on for a couple of hours, then when I come back my heatsink isn't spinning and doesn't, even though my CPU is at 60c. I need to turn off the powersuply then turn it on and start the computer again to make it work. How do I fix this?

My specs:
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 Conroe 1.86GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6300

GPU - eVGA 256-P2-N584-AR Geforce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

Mother Board - GIGABYTE GA-965G-DS3 Socket T (LGA 775) Intel G965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

PSU - HIPER HPU-4K580-MS ATX12V 580W Power Supply - Retail

RAM - CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400 - Retail

Oops, posted in wrong thread
__________________

tzvii is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 12:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I think you meant the fan isn't spinning. Make sure you seated the heatsink and fan correctly. You can try taking it off and putting it back on.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 12:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Thats pretty high, My suggestion would be to go out and get a Copper Heatsink with some Artic silver 5 and Get a fan with a Molex Connector and a Single yellow wire to be plugged into the Motherboard Connector. My tornado (The fan on my Heatsink) Has this. When i bought the Aftermarket Heatsink i removed the stock Fan and screwed A tornado on it. I used a Molex Connector so It would Always stay on and connect a Single Yellow wire to the 3 Pin Connector on the motherboard. This allowed the fan to stay on all the time and for the motherboard to see that a CPU fan is connected.


However: A cheaper option would be to first enter the CMOS Setup and look for an option reguarding CPU Fan control. It may or may not be there. The next cheapest Option would be to just replace the stock fan with something Like I suggested. One in which it has a molex connector and a Single yellow wire to connect to the motherboard.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

my CPU fan starts and stops which was to do with the safety controls in the BIOS I turned those off and now it runs full speed it could be that.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Yeh I meant that the fan wasn't spinning. It cycles on and off, but if I leave it on for a few hours it just doesn't start moving again, and I have to restart the computer for it to work.
Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
my CPU fan starts and stops which was to do with the safety controls in the BIOS I turned those off and now it runs full speed it could be that.
I looked, but I couldn't find that option. Where is it?
tzvii is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 05:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

should be under power management or health status. Look for the page that shows CPU temp and fan speed then start changing some of the settings.

if smart fan is in the settings change it to disabled.

all you really need on that page is warning temp alarm apart from that the rest should be on disabled.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 10:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
should be under power management or health status. Look for the page that shows CPU temp and fan speed then start changing some of the settings.

if smart fan is in the settings change it to disabled.

all you really need on that page is warning temp alarm apart from that the rest should be on disabled.
I just did that, and now my CPU is at 20c instead of 25c
EDIT: About a minute later, I opened Everest Home (I was looking at the temps in Easy Tune 5) And after a couple seconds in Easy Tune 5 the temp climbed up to 80c . Probably would have gone higher, but I turned computer off. When I started it, a beeping noise. So I waited liek 15 minutes, started it, beeping noise still, so i kept it on for long enough to get to BIOS setup and turned it back to how it was before. It's working fine now. Why did this happen?>
tzvii is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 01:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

sounds like a bad heatsink lie, you might want to take it off and check the thermal paste and that the Heatsink and fan are positioned correctly.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 11:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default

What do I check about for the thermal paste? I'm pretty sure than the heat sink and fan are positioned good.
tzvii is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Check the thermal paste is spread nicely over the CPU and there is enough on it. I would load up to the BIOS temp screen and leave it for 10 mins and keep an eye on it. If it stays steady for 10-20 minutes then Id think its ok.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.