Headphones - one last time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2005, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Headphones - one last time

Ok, now i know i've asked this before, but i'll have to ask one more time since i'm going to order tomorrow and my budget is higher.

What i'm looking for (not necessary):
1.) comfortable
2.) if it has a mic, that it can be pushed back so it doesn't interfere
3.) can pinpoint out location of other people in games
4.) sturdy (wires won't come off like my $6 one did )
5.) in-line volume control (can it be set-up with shortcuts on the keyboard?)

i was looking at these:
http://www.xoxide.com/za51suulgahe.html

my concern was that the zalmanswere too heavy

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-324&depa=0

little expensive, but i guess that's ok...do they have inline volume cntrl?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-012&depa=0
unless these are absolutely amazing, they cost too much
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-306&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-346&depa=0

anything else? (budget is under 60)

thx
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Zalman's aren't heavy. They must weigh like 1 pound max, I don't see why weight is an issue. edit: just checked, they are less than a pound heavy. if you're head can't take a pound you must never wear hats.
The zalman microphone never gets in the way, it attaches to the cord and is high sensitivity so your mouth doesn't have to be close to it. It's like the microphones that newscasters wear, the high-quality ones that attach to their shirts.

There is no in-line volume control but I think that's a good thing. I've had altec lansing and plantronics headsets with in-line controls and they always shorted out.

Don't even think about those DSP headphones if you have a good sound card. They are USB meaning they do their own audio and don't run off your sound card, they are good if you don't have a sound card, but if you do they are crap and overpriced.

I would get the zalman's and get a $20 media keyboard like Logitech or Microsoft and just use the volume up/down buttons on it.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

the zalmans do look very good and pimprig gave it a 9.10, but i have few questions:

1.) in games, can you pinpoint out where the opponents are approximately (i read few reviews on newegg that said they couldn't)
2.) when i order from xoxide and choose the microphone option, how will it be placed? i want something that can be folded up, not dangling around
3.) i have a microsoft media keyboard but i never used it, so i guess it'll be handy now
4.) are they sturdy? (sometimes i fall asleep in my bed with my headphones on..so yea )

ty
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

1. I can do it easily. Those reviewers may not have a proper sound card. An Audigy 2 ZS with latest drivers and Hardware + EAX 4.0 mode enabled paired with the Zalman's does the trick for me.

2. I don't think you understand about the mic. It's not on a boom. It attaches to the cord and you never have to touch it. I forget its ever even there. The microphone sits right on my left shoulder and my voice can still be heard easily. See this picture to see what I mean.
http://www.xpcgear.com/zalmanmic1.html

3. Yea it could be, I love mine, couldn't go back to a regular keyboard now.

4. Yes, they fold up, they can sit standing up, they can take a beating, I've dropped them several times on hard wood flooring from about 3 feet up.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

great, thx, i'll probably be ordering them tomorrow

only bad part is that i don't think my audio card is that good (it's a karajan audio module for my dfi board, but i has 8 ch.)

edit: btw, if you don't mind, can you test out how it sounds with music using only one jack?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 01:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

This is a very good headset. I like it alot.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...106-931&depa=0
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 04:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to MeltedPanzy
Default

dont buy Plastic headphones, they'll break in a month or less, get something leather/steel
MeltedPanzy is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 04:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea

i went to some forum and signed up and there were these ppl telling me the zalman sucked tho

meh i guess they're just a bunch of audiophiles that want the best sound
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 04:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I own a Sennheiser PC-150. I love it. It has in-line volume control and a mic-mute switch.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 04-18-2005, 05:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

what's the difference between the pc-130 and pc-150?
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.