headphone - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2005, 10:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Try wearing some sony mdr v700's for an hour

Their like 350g headphones
What is that? Like 12 oz. or so? Now if I could only reference what 12 oz feels like on my head I might know what they feel like.
__________________

__________________
BUM+ Certified
g-unit is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 10:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jonathan Bones
I love my six-speaker Zalmans, and don't find them to be heavy at all. In fact, they're the only set of full-size headphones I've ever been able to wear for long periods without my ears becoming sore on account of my glasses. My ears can get a little warm sometimes, but it really isn't a problem.

I find the sound to be superb, but then I'm not an audio freak. I was used to using cheap stereo headphones. My more-adept friend told me they're a little light on the low-range, but that doesn't seem to bother me.

The downside? No volume control on the cable. I don't mind adjusting via the software control panel, but having the control is a great convenience.
I have volume controls on my keyboard so this is not an issue for me

although there might still be a way for you to bind volume controls to some keys to make it easier, though I'm not sure how.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 10:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
I have volume controls on my keyboard so this is not an issue for me

although there might still be a way for you to bind volume controls to some keys to make it easier, though I'm not sure how.
Yeah, I've been thinking of getting a media keyboard with that. They work fine with Creative sound panels, right? Which keyboard are you using, yourself?

As for global bindings, I've wondered about that before but haven't done a whole lot of research.
Jonathan Bones is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 11:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

I totally agree with Dale when it comes to the headphones, they are really great, down fall is they have no volume control but like Dale says, he doesn't care because he has bolume control on his keyboard, so do I.

The other problem is that your ears can get wear from time to time and require you to take them off but its fine take them off for 5minutes and all's good.

But apart from that, I can't complain!
ApM is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 12:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jonathan Bones
Yeah, I've been thinking of getting a media keyboard with that. They work fine with Creative sound panels, right? Which keyboard are you using, yourself?

As for global bindings, I've wondered about that before but haven't done a whole lot of research.
Yea it works fine, I have the creative sound panel running in the tray and when I use the volume buttons it turns the volume on the sound card up and down (not windows volume) which is really cool. There's about 25 notches in the volume meter and you can just keep going up and down by hitting the buttons. And what's really nice is when I am in game if I up the volume after a second it blinks a few times so I can see what volume I'm at. There is also mute, play/pause and all that stuff. I like listening to music and stuff while gaming.
I got the Microsoft Multimedia keyboard. The layout of the buttons and everything seems really cool to me, though it takes a little while to get used to.

I think a media keyboard is a necessity, it's very convenient and you should be able to find one for $20 or so.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 12:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 75
Default

Okay, thanks very much for the information, Dale. I've been meaning to look into it, and will for sure, now.
__________________

Jonathan Bones is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.