HDTV monitor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2005, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default HDTV monitor?

Would an HDTV such as this or this work as a good computer monitor?
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 09:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Both will work if you have DVI out on your machine. if you dont you can get a converter for DVI to VGA which will run you about 15-20 dollars. i would also recommend looking at LCD projectors
newegg.com
__________________

Python1564 is offline  
Old 01-27-2005, 09:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

I actually just got rid of my projector because 1. it made the room so unbearably hot and 2. it was so loud, but thanks for the help.
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

If you got a newer card, your gonna have a DVI out. My card is an FX5600 and only has a DVI connector but it came with an adapter to make it VGA. So if you have the DVI connector and the money to get the HDTV, then it will make a great damn monitor.
Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.