HDMI and old PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2016, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Fremont
Posts: 2
Default HDMI and old PC

I want to hook up to my new HDTV to watch Netflix and other free movies from the internet. I understand that I need to install a graphics card that has HDMI (minimum) port. I have read that I could do without a graphics card and just use a VGA and an audio cable. Anybody know what I REALLY need?
__________________

SteveP150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2016, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 26,213
Default Re: HDMI and old PC

That depends on your PC and TV really. Need a bit more info.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire Mechwarrior Online = Thunderson PSN = PP_Mguire


Need Descent and Mechwarrior buddies!
If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Fremont
Posts: 2
Default Re: HDMI and old PC

I found this matrix switcher https://bzbexpress.com/AT-HD600/HDMI...HD-Atlona.html
Anyone has tested this one?
SteveP150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2016, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,326
Default Re: HDMI and old PC

Like PP said, we need more info on your setup.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sceptre X246W Hdmi to Hdmi PROBLEM! Drugger Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-01-2010 03:00 AM
VGA and HDMI at the same time? 95BlackGA Microsoft XBox 6 05-27-2009 06:09 PM
HDMI, Component, TV out and all the fun that goes with it. thecube New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-16-2009 09:33 AM
Playing in HDMI with no HDMI Plug-in dave39 Microsoft XBox 7 02-11-2008 07:43 PM
PS3 and HDMI zetahammy Sony Playstation 13 08-08-2007 06:29 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.