HDMI-DVI + monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2008, 03:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Default HDMI-DVI + monitor

Hi guys,

I've recently purchased a 24 inch Dell widescreen monitor running at a resolution of 1920 x 1200. I currently have it hooked up to my computer through a DVI cable, however I would also like to use it for playing a PS3 that I'm just about to pull the trigger on and purchase.

The monitor came with a HDMI-DVI cable which I figure would be great to use with the PS3, however as mentioned my computer is currently utlising the DVI connection. What are my options here?

I want the best connections that will give me the best quality possible for both my PC display and the PS3, especially in terms of colour for the PC (photo editing). Should I revert to using a VGA connection for my PC? Is it possible to buy some kind of 2 into 1 DVI connector so I could continue to use DVI for both the PC and PS3 and manually switch between the two?

The inputs for the monitor are DVI, VGA, composite video, S-video and component video.



Thanks for any help
__________________

jhosken is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 04:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: HDMI-DVI + monitor

sorry misunderstood earlier.... i'd say graphically you'd want DVI set up for your compy... because colors will be more true.. but i'm sure you can live w/ some small color distortion of the d-sub(vga), while having ps3 hooked up to hdmi if you absolutely have to play at 1080p
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: HDMI-DVI + monitor

you can buy dvi switchers...kvms...etc
might cost you $100 just to do so though
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 09:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: HDMI-DVI + monitor

I love how crisp everything is w/ dvi. I would do what atomic suggested. Look on ebay or something. They have them w/ remotes and stuff
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hdmi? J9Darkwing New Systems | Building and Buying 2 02-15-2008 11:57 PM
An LCD monitor to finish off my gaming setup... mark1413 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 01-20-2008 09:13 PM
Is this a monitor or video card problem? help! smashhands Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-02-2007 08:33 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.