HDMI cable for monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2017, 08:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
bL4cKh4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 55
Default HDMI cable for monitor

I just have one question that I haven't found a clear answer on Google.. What HDMI cable would you recommend for me to buy to get the 144hz refresh rate that my monitor advertises? Right now, i'm getting 60hz when I'm supposed to be getting 144. Thanks for the help
__________________

__________________
bL4cKh4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 11:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,926
Default Re: HDMI cable for monitor

Cable doesn't really matter as long as it's an appropriate thickness (i.e. not a super-ultimate cheap thin one). That said, I don't think HDMI even supports 1080p@144hz...I think the limit is 120hz?

You'll have to use DisplayPort (if your monitor has it) or DVI-D.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 06:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,062
Default Re: HDMI cable for monitor

HDMI in itself has enough bandwidth for 144hz but 60hz+ isn't part of the spec so controllers in monitors don't typically support higher. For this reason you need Displayport or dual-link DVI.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2017, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
bL4cKh4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 55
Default Re: HDMI cable for monitor

Ok, thanks. I am using the dvi-d port and now it's at 144hz but I have a dual monitor setup and my other monitor only has a dvi port and my video card only has one dvi port so I'm thinking about buying a dvi to HDMI converter so I can plug it up also
__________________
bL4cKh4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2017, 03:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 4
Default Re: HDMI cable for monitor

it also depends on the resolution. use displayport if available.
if you only have hdmi and dvi, you don't need a converter, its just an adapter. those are quite same signals, not like vga. in most cases you need a converter for vga, those are a little bit more expensive.
__________________
kraddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 06:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
bL4cKh4T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 55
Default Re: HDMI cable for monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by kraddie View Post
it also depends on the resolution. use displayport if available.
if you only have hdmi and dvi, you don't need a converter, its just an adapter. those are quite same signals, not like vga. in most cases you need a converter for vga, those are a little bit more expensive.
yea, that's what i meant, an adapter. it was just a bad choice of words, lol but i got an adapter for my other monitor and it works good.
__________________

__________________
bL4cKh4T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring lcd monitor directly to hdmi cable.. possible? mindnumbinglyfun Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 01-16-2011 10:32 AM
Computer Monitor isn't working with HDMI cable bagelred Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-04-2010 09:12 PM
HDMI Cable vs. DVI Cable roweder Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 08-06-2010 08:38 PM
dvi to hdmi cable or hdm cable with dvi adaper NYbadboy911 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-30-2009 12:17 PM
Playing in HDMI with no HDMI Plug-in dave39 Microsoft XBox 7 02-11-2008 07:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.