HDD space issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2010, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Exclamation HDD space issue

First of all, I thank whomever comes here for your time.

My PC:
XP64 Pro SP2
AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual 3.21 GHz
4gb RAM
NVIdia 8600 GTS 512kb
Hitachi 2TB 7200rpm 32mb Cache
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe

When I installed XP64 Pro SP2 onto my new 2TB HDD, I noticed a little space issue with my hard drive. Of course, I first installed my mobo drivers and graphics drivers first in order to allow the system to get other programs smoothly. My hard drive, upon fresh and full formatted install, said that nearly half of it was already filled. I was annoyed, but I waited to fix this problem as I had other things on my mind and was busy transferring all of the video files that the following pictures show (yep, I'm one of those people ). Anyway, I went googling to scout out what the potential problem was, and found TreeSize and SpaceMonger, as well as a few other programs. Many of the problems that other people were having were due to version issues of their OS: something like sp1 having a limit of ~127gb to show, or installing windows 7 on a previous windows OS whereby windows 7 would save their old info in a new folder, etc. However, I haven't been able to find a solution suitable to my problem.

As one can see from the pictures below, my OS sees and knows that my 2TB HDD is supposed to be 2 (1.81TB after OD install, of course), but it shows half of it as unscannable. Any help would be greatly appreciated and, once again, thank you for your time.

http://usera.imagecave.com/Mystyk/Mi...20Half.bmp.jpg
http://usera.imagecave.com/Mystyk/Mi...f%20v2.bmp.jpg
__________________

lagurash is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: HDD space issue

TreeSize shows the Documents and Settings folder consuming nearly all the space. Did you expand that to see what's in there? I've never used Space Monger, but it's showing half the consumed space is videos.
__________________

DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: HDD space issue

Have you tried using CHKDSK?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: HDD space issue

Two TB, half is full of movies (doc's and settings, since my movies are on my Administrator account's desktop) and half is considered unscannable. If you notice, TreeSize says that the C: drive is only approximately 1 TB full, but also notes the max size for the same drive is 1.8TB. Also, Space Monger is much like TreeSize, in that it analyzes total disk space (rather than just used space, like TreeSize does) and expresses file allocation.

I have done already done a chkdsk /f run, and it hasn't fixed the space issue.
lagurash is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: HDD space issue

Ugh, nevermind. My advice to anyone having this kind of problem is to just return the hard drive and get a replacement.

Thank you all for your time and advice.
lagurash is offline  
Old 04-03-2010, 08:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: HDD space issue

I used HDDguru's HDD Wipe Tool, then did a quick format when reinstalling my OS. It ended up fixing my problem, and hopefully it'll help someone else. Keep in mind that this tool will completely erase all data, so back up what you want/need beforehand.
lagurash is offline  
Old 04-03-2010, 10:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HDD space issue

You should never do a quick format.

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/gpa...torial-224994/

A quick format is just like moving a virus to the Recycle Bin. It doesnt do anything useful. You need to do a full format or format with a special tool like Gparted. Either choice is 100X better than doing a quick format.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-03-2010, 10:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: HDD space issue

Well, the full format was always causing half my brand new 2 TB hard drive to be unusable, so I think I'll stick with the quick format that gives me full usage of the 1.8TB left over...
lagurash is offline  
Old 04-04-2010, 12:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: HDD space issue

That has nothing to do with the format. That has everything to do with the Os being installed. XP, even XP X64, before SP2 had the 137GB Barrier on it. You need SP2 for both XP and XP X64 to not have that limit.

I also have a 2TB hard drive and i used GParted to format it myself. I did not have any issues having the full drive be used.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-04-2010, 03:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: HDD space issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by lagurash
My PC:
XP64 Pro SP2
AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual 3.21 GHz
4gb RAM
NVIdia 8600 GTS 512kb
Hitachi 2TB 7200rpm 32mb Cache
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
So, it's not a matter of the service pack...reading is fun! Well, it's not for most people, but it's necessary to actually be helpful on a forum...
I didn't come here first for answers, I did quite a bit of web browsing before I decided to ask for help.

Anyway, it might have been an issue with my XP64 Pro SP2 disk during the full format, or an issue with my DVD drive reading it during the full format...or some combination of factors during the full formatting.
__________________

lagurash is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Something is eating up my 80gig hdd space -RockMan- Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-08-2008 06:56 PM
No HDD space????? leonardmp92 Microsoft Windows and Software 10 04-22-2008 01:29 PM
How to made XP add SATA-II HDD to hardware list ? goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-23-2008 12:00 PM
HDD issue DawnOfDoom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 01-19-2008 04:17 PM
External Hard drive space issue Thechosenone Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-06-2007 12:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.