hdd problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2004, 03:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I don't do any cd-cd copying, why is it a bad idea to have two cd drives on the same ide? does it hurt to have two hard drives on the same ide? I put them like that cause they were so much easier to organize, the cables aren't long enough to have hdd-cd and hdd-cd.
__________________

Lazarus_Abraham is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 05:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lazarus_Abraham
I don't do any cd-cd copying, why is it a bad idea to have two cd drives on the same ide?
Data needs to flow continuously between the two channels in order for optimal speed and error reduction. It's analogous to 2 cars coming up on a 1-lane bridge; one must wait for the other to traverse the bridge before crossing.

There is no harm in having two hard drives on the same IDE channel.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 01:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 92
Default

Did you check your power connection to the HD? If so and it's all good then ya it fried.
__________________

Senseis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.