HDD jumpers for master/slave change? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2005, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default HDD jumpers for master/slave change?

I wish to change my laptop hard drive from master to slave. It is a toshiba mk4018gas, an apparently I can do something with jumpers. There are 4 pins at the back; can I link these somehow?

(I wish to try this because a new cd drive is not 'seen' by the computer, possibly because they are both configured master drives. I can't change the IDE channel (no option in BIOS), nor can I change the master/slave configuration of the cd drive. Last option before returning product.)

Thanks...








.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

yep, put a jumper connector across the appropriate ones, they are usually labeled.........you should have a spare jumper laying around somewhere if you build PC's much, if not, most shops would probably give you some for free
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I think you are still going to have to keep the hard drive as master,Just go to Toshiba's web site and see if they have a diagram to show you how to do it.
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

You're lap top perhaps only has 1 IDE channel. If that's the case, then you must keep HDD master & CD-ROM slave. "I do believe"

If it has 2 IDE channels then you'll have Primary Master, Primay Slave & Secondary Master, Secondary Slave.

Primarys are for HDD's & Secondaries are for Optical Drives.

wait... what type of CD Drive is it? There should always be jumpers on a CD drive. Master/Slave/Cable Select
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i thought that you could not boot from a slave hd?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yes, you can. I do it quite often on my Mac and on my dad's PC.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 05:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

oh, right. i learnt sumthing new. lol
joshd is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 06:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

teac cdw224e a93 cd-rw drive has no jumpers. I believe they make a slave drive (suffix a83), but ther are no jumpers on this slimline cd drive.

I did come across one that could be altered using a application ('soft jumper'?!)
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.