HDD to HDD copy, best software? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2004, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default HDD to HDD copy, best software?

Hey all, simple question.

A friend has a failing hard disk and just ordered a new one. What's the best software to do a direct image of your HDD to a nother HDD? I'm clueless in this department, but I'm sure there has to be a simple program to use.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

any home or corporate versions of Symantec Norton Ghost 2003 or later
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Thank you, I think I posted in the incorrect forum, but that's exactly what I was looking for
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-02-2004, 11:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Symantec Norton Ghost or Partition Magic.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 12:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

If it's a WD then data life guard will copy drive to drive.
heavywx is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Partition Magic or DriveImage or V2i
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I'll read up on all of the above. Can anyone tell me which would be the easiest to use? Trying to keep things quick and painless =)
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

partittion magic

it has wizards

when you have finish

use partition magic or computer managment (administrative tools in control panel) to set the disc as active (by default it is set as hidden, so there won't be any confusion), turn off the computer and remove the old drive.

I don't like ghost 2003, because it will overwrite a whole physical drive with it's new image, even if it has 3 or 4 partitions on it, that you don't want to erase. I had that happen to me before.

I also don't like Maxblast 3, because you have to copy it in dos mode to copy every last files (reg windows won't let it copy some files), and then it still might not boot. you will get an error about the license key, and then you will have to go to system recovery from booting with your xp cd to fix it
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Burstcopy

http://www.burstcopy.com
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default

'my drive is hard' emulator.
__________________

Mel Function is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.