HDD gone... how did my HDD spoilt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2005, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default HDD gone... how did my HDD spoilt


2 weeks ago, while inserting another slave HDD, my Master HDD crashed and spoilt... no matter what I tried to revive it(e.g. putting in freezer, knocking it etc), it failed to even move

Just now, I went to Acecom to change my HDD and the guy there showed me that one of the HDD chips had "blown" and shorted...When I asked him why it happened, he told me that maybe there is still electricity running when I touch the HDD cables, and thats y it blown..

BUT, I know that I had already turned off the power supply and took out the black power cable before touching anything inside..... it is only when I fixed everything(the slave drive and my master drive),then I fix in the power supply..... and then I found out that my Master HDD had spoilt...

Anyone can tell me how did this occur? is it overheating or what?


gyaradoz is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5

Dear gyaradoz,
This may be due to static charge. If you switch off the power supply, you should wait for some time as the output capacitors of SMPS ( switch mode power supply ) are charged. They require some time to discharge.

Check out following article on Hard drive safety.




sumukh is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 265

When i open my PC, i switch the power supply off, and then press the 'on' button on my PC. The PC will start for a split second and then shut off imediatley. This drains any charge left in the machine and makes it safe to touch componants.
AMD Athlon64 3200+
1GB Corsair 400Mhz DDR RAM
Leadtek 6600GT @ 575/1103
Lite-On DVD/RW
480 Watt Antec NeoPower
17\" LG TFT
haGGard is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

wow that sucks befor i knew anythign bout computer i used to fool around in there when the power was on i dont know how u people can be soo unluckey lol
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

i didnt know that works, haGGard, thanks.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 12:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7

how do you enable S.M.A.R.T of the HDD in the BIOS?

gyaradoz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.