HD Tach: Terrible Results - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2004, 08:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would swap the drives. make sure to configure bios to boot from the other channel.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 09:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to GrayT
Default

Still the same thing happens.
__________________

GrayT is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 10:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

maybe you got older ide cables?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 10:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Even old IDE cables shouldn't limit it to 3MB/s or PIO modes. An old 40conductor IDE cable supports up to UDMA33 (maximum of 33MB/s burst-speeds)
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 10:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to GrayT
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
maybe you got older ide cables?
I replaced them with some PCToys UltraATA 133 Cables, so that's not the problem.
GrayT is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 10:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Rightclick ur harddrives in mycomputer. Make sure caching is enabled and run hdtach again.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 10:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to GrayT
Default

Both were enabled previously. Check again and they still are, did the test with them on after checking and same results.

Thanks for everyones help, especially you 'TheMajor' I do appreciate everything said.
GrayT is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

When was the last time you've done a format? Even if it's been a while it'd take a lot of junk to slow it down to that point... my grandmas 10gb that came out of a 6 year old PeoplePC machine doesn't read that slow =/

How about checking to see if the drive is severely fragmented?

A lots already been covered and I'm strapped for ideas on what would cause it to do that.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i dunno where hdtach writes temp data to bench read and random access (if any)
but a defragged hd should not affect burst speeds.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 11:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah but ideas are running low...key word is SHOULD not lol, but in my experience with computers they generally do a lot of things they shouldn't. But at this point I'm stumped =/
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.