HD problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2003, 05:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Default

oh right, i didnt do that, and neither when i boot into cmd prompt, nor when i use it normally can i use scandisk, would using the recovery console on my win xp disk work?
__________________

vierstein is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 06:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

might to run a repair on windows.......can it even boot to windows at all?? if so you can run an install of xp without doing a format and itll just recopy all the windows files to your pc.
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 09:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Default

yeah, windows boots fine, the other hard drive has problems, its got music, vids, and anything else i store on my computer, thats not a runable program, i was trying to know if i could do something to stop the erorr, or retrieve my files, if i could just get the files back i could reformat it.
vierstein is offline  
Old 09-24-2003, 09:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

try putting the HDD in another pc provided you have one
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 08:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Default

yeah, i do, but its so old it'll take me years to get back the 30 gigs on the drive , actually thanks ill try it.
vierstein is offline  
Old 09-25-2003, 09:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

hope putting the hdd in the other pc will let ya recover the files
__________________

__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.