having problems with pc! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 12:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Exclamation having problems with pc!

built a new pc and installed all drives and the pc is not hot at all but it freezes whenever i try to play battlefield 2 and i got 2 blue screens. ive posted up a topic before and i had a few suggestions but they didnt seem to work and today i even had to turn off my computer cuz my cpu fan wasnt spinning i dont know what the heck is wrong with this but please give suggestions it will deffinately help me out

:specs:
aspire x-plorer
chaintech VNF4
amd 3500+
aspire 500 w. power supply
6600 GT evga
corsair value ram 1 gig.
Serial ATA barracudda 80 gig. hard drive
__________________

chris_110 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 12:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

could be something as simple as a scratched disk or your optical drives
__________________

__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 01:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to Mionics
Default

bro check your motherboard and check the power supply. It can be anything so if i was you i would run a burn in test or some **** like that. try calling up the motherboard manufacturer cause you're risking ****ing up your CPU.
Mionics is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 01:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Fixes for your problems:

BF2:Use the Nvidia drivers that come with the game. It seems that BF2 is hella buggy. Also, I believe there is a patch out for the game, so try downloading that.

CPU Fan:I had something like this happen to me too, and it kinda freaked me out at first Go into your BIOS, and check for a setting that will turn off your CPU fan if it isnt needed. On my mobo the feature was called SMARTfan, although I doubt it would be the same on yours.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

yea dude the cpu problem was the smart fan thank u bro. and i found out why i would freeze so much...i did a mem-test and it didnt do good so im just gonna overclock or if not buy new RAM. thank u guys ur suggestions where alot of help.
chris_110 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 02:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
JDGreen92086's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sellersburg, Indiana
Posts: 343
Send a message via AIM to JDGreen92086
Default

Dont download the newest bf2 patch. Heard from G4 tv that it is bad. EA is telling everyone to reinstall bf2 to the previous patch.
__________________

__________________
Newbie since 2005.
JDGreen92086 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.