Having a computer in a damp basement? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2007, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Question Having a computer in a damp basement?

I was just really wondering what other people thought about this. But my question is, if you are using a computer regularly in a somewhat damp basement, where I guess there is moisture in the air, would it do any harm, or anything bad? Because it seems like my CPU temp/ case temp has gone up possibly, or its just me, or the spot I moved it.

because my basement where my rooms at it feels damp down here, I try running a dehumidifier down here as much as possible, but I just don't know...

but what do you guys think?
__________________

undergrounddlz is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

whoa....a place with moisture, is not a good place for a computer to be...especially moisture in the air. You don't want it to short your computer. How long have you had it there?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
whoa....a place with moisture, is not a good place for a computer to be...especially moisture in the air. You don't want it to short your computer. How long have you had it there?
Well its not like extream moisture, like you can't actually see mist or anything lol but it just has that clammy basement damp feeling.
undergrounddlz is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 12:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to undergrounddlz
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

*bump*
undergrounddlz is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 01:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

using it regularly? uhh, cant you just move it out of the basement?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,657
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

I would definatly say move it, or try and revamp your basement so's its not all wet/moistair thing. its definatly not good for the computer tho.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 11:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: west babylon
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to team 1203 4 life
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

definietly either run a dehumidifier constantly or move it before you short some thing out and or have to re wire the whole thing
team 1203 4 life is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 08:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

i was thinking of making a box and put the pc and dehumidifier in it, and have a vent that blows the hot air and takes in cool air from the first floor. not very practical, but hey, if it has to stay down there, it might work
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 09:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

ehh i have my old duron 700mhz in my damp basement since forever, works fine, and nicely cooled down there too
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Having a computer in a damp basement?

lol


aww what???, the minimum text in a reply is 5 characters? aww thats bull, that just needed a simple lol to reply...
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
Computer crash Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2007 10:43 AM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.