Have you guys seen this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Arrow Have you guys seen this?

From Microsoft:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=330909

Failure of XP to hibernate when a system has a gig or more of RAM. Hmm...
__________________

ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hmm, i never hibernate anyways, who would want to.. Il try it out when i get a gig tho, hehe
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

yeah, but if you're gonna hibernate, you might as well just turn off the computer
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

agreed. It takes almost the same time for my system to come out of hiberation as it does to boot up.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

as long as i can still standby, cause i do that a lot with my laptop
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 01:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Hibernating is great for laptops. It also keeps your desktop as it was when you left, saving everything, which is good too.

I've never run into this problem before, personally though. I tend to only run hibernate on laptops, and I don't think I've had one yet that carries a gig of RAM.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.