have a new LCD: input question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2006, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default have a new LCD: input question

I just got a new LCD, but I am forced to use the analog connection since my video card is stock. To use the DVI input it requires me to get a new video card plus the cable. Is the DVI far superior in quality or will I even notice anything? It's a Samsung 930b LCD and if I upgrade the videocard it will be a 6600gt. Just wondering if I should bother if there aren't that many benefits.
__________________

Midnight is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 01:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Not enough to go to that expense.

Now, if you bought a new card (like for gaming) and got the cable at the same time, I'd switch.

But just to be able to use DVI...? Nah. The difference ain't worth it.

==================================================

Since you just got your LCD, be sure to turn on ClearType. It let's you adjust the text so it is clearer.

Here's a link:
http://www.microsoft.com/typography/...ner/Step1.aspx
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Ok. So unless I needed the card for gaming ...it's not really worth it for the DVI input?

What does DVI do really? I assume just a clearer image.
Midnight is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 12:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

DVI gives a digital image, while VGA gives an analog image (really simplified there).

A digital image is sharper than an analog one, but most can't tell a world of difference on an LCD. I think DVI transmits a little faster than VGA as well.

I use VGA for my LCD, as my card doesn't have DVI outputs... looks great to me.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-17-2006, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Alright. Thanks for the info. I guess i'll stick with the analog for now.
Midnight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.