has the audigy 2 ZS platinum pro been discontinued - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 04:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default has the audigy 2 ZS platinum pro been discontinued

Hello
has the Creative Labs Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro been discontinued. i checked it on amazon and dabs and it does nto seem to be there.

what is the alternative to it if it has been discontinued, i had my hearts set on it.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

it's not been disc., amazon doesn't carry everything

check out www.newegg.com, they have everything
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i am in the UK, unfortunately we dont have newegg in the UK
what do you think of the 2zs platinum
any competition?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 05:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah the Turtle beach cards are in good competition with the soundblasters, and IMO kick their @$$

I need to get a new soundcard before I spend 600$ on a pair of studio monitors
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

In case you didn't know the only difference between the platinum pro and the regular audigy 2 ZS is the external box. If you have no need for an external box with extra connectors then I would just get the regular audigy 2 ZS.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 07:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=49155

Try this and check out the UK Online Retailers.
ApM is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 04:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i thought the platinum pro fits in the 5.25 inch drive?
do you mean to say the pro actually sits outside the PC and talks through some interface, whereas the pci sites i nthe 5.25 bay?


hey apm thanks for the link to the links
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

The card itself goes into a PCI slot. With the audigy 2 ZS pro there is an extra box with extra connectors in it that goes into the 5.25 inch bay. This is only necessary if you really want these extra connectors though, if you only have one set of speakers or the headset you only need the card, and you can connect through the back. The Audigy 2 ZS platinum Pro has the extra box with extra connectors as external instead of fitting in a 5.25 inch bay. Both the boxes are about the same with volume knobs and what not, and both come with a remote. The only real difference is one is internal the other is external.
Hope you can understand my explanation.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

oh, so if i am running out of 5.25 inch bays, i go for the platinum pro

what kind of remote do they come with?IR?
i suppose there is some sort of cable connecting the 5.25 inch box to the PCI card in the case of the 2 ZS pro and in the case of the 2 ZS platinum pro there is some sot of cable which comes out of the back of the computer case to connect to the external box, correct?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Yes that's all correct. I'm not sure about the remote though, but I assume it is infrared.

Also have you considered the audigy 4 pro? It comes with an external box like the audigy 2 zs platinum pro but it is a better sound card. If you can afford it I would get that since it's the latest sound card and not too much more expensive over the audigy 2 zs platinum pro. Should be only about 20 pounds more (if I did that conversion right).
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.