Hardware or Software Problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2004, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default Hardware or Software Problem?

Anyways, here's my story hope you guys can help.

I put together a computer back in Dec 2003. Here are the specs:
512 Kingston Value
ATI 9600
Seagate SATA 80GB
ASUS A7N8X Deluxe
Win XP

Anyways, around three weeks ago, i turn on my computer and there is a registry problem (a blue screen of death popped up each time i restarted). I had system restore disabled so i couldnt run that, so i tried my luck and ran chkdsk, chkdsk /p, and chkdsk /r in the windows installation recovery console. And it worked! My registry worked fine and my comp started up. I had lost a couple of win updates in the process and had to reinstall media player but it was all good. Then this happened 2 more times over the next two weeks and I did the same thing and resolved the problem.

Tonight, I turned on my computer and it came up and said Registry Failure. So I did the same process and it didnt work. Now this is no biggie, since Im buying a new HDD soon, gonna back up my data and format. But I need to recover from this in order to transfer the files to my new empty hdd. If you can help me recover from this it would save my time, rather than taking an old hdd and using it as a middle man os to transfer files from my 80gb corrupted registry hdd to my new empty hdd. Now is it possible to run a OS from a PATA hdd while you have two SATA hdd on the same mobo? Would i be successful in transferring the files between the two SATA through the PATAs OS? (WINXP btw)

Now onto my main question. Is my 80gb hdd getting corrupted registry errors becuase something is physically defected with my hdd. Should I return it? Or is this a mere virus or software problem that could be fixed with a simple format. Also, my hdd has been packed this last month, meaning only around 100-500 mb free average. Could that cause the registry to become corrupted?

Help would be much appreciated!

PersianMafia is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

it looks like you've got some adware/spyware or a virus that is altering your registry; what antivirus and adware removal programs have you got?

if you want to transfer files from your old HDD, you might be unwittingly taking the virus/adware/spyware over with it

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233

I believe it is optimum that the HDD your OS resides on has at least 15 percent free space for Vmem and other operations. I would recommend uninstalling a few applications and running an updated virus scan/adware removal program. If these tests and opperations do not solve your problem I would look into reformatting the HDD and starting clean. If, after the fresh install, you notice the same problem, it is definately a hardware issue. I would then return the HDD or smash it in my driveway with a vid cam rolling

Anyways, it could be a number of problems if it is a software related problem. If you have your programs on disks and important data backed up on CDs or DVDs you shouldn't have any concerns reformatting and reinstalling your OS. Good luck.


Tip for future reference: I would recommend backing up your registry and creating a system restore point every time you install ANYTHING in the future. Do this and you will save yourself alot of hardship when something goes wrong. Hope that helps.
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37

Thanks for the tips guys. The problem is I cant even access Windows XP in safemode nor normal mode. So basically, there is no way I can go and run the antivirus/spyware removal tools. Guess my best bet is to buy a (much needed) new hdd, back up my data then format the 80gb and use that only for OS.

Is it possible for me to run a PATA hdd with an OS on it along with two serial ata hdd temporarily while I transfer the files between the two SATA hdds?

Anyways, what HDD you guys recommend, the Seagate or the WD Raptor :P I'm looking at a 160gb :P
PersianMafia is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 06:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37

Also, how exactly does System Restore points work? Does it back up your registry? Is it the same thing as the Windows XP system restore? What exactly does it back up? Just Windows system files, or your entire HDD?
PersianMafia is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.