Hardware Problem, error included. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2005, 07:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

LINK.

Thats the link to the joystick I got and the downlaods avaliable on the Logitech website. I can't find the drivers though. Its probably right in front of my face and I don't know it. Help, please.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 07:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
I didn't install anything when I connected the joystick, mouse, and headset. The joystick was USB so I just plugged it in, set the buttons in Battlefield 2, and started playing. I plugged in the headset to the back of my CPU Case, and connected the mouse to the PS/2 connection in the back also. The joystick is my greatest suspect in this, but I found that its complatible with Win2K's HCL lists.

I ran a search on my computer for those files/drivers and found 3 of em.
The first one was in C:\Program Files\WinFixer 2005
The second one was in C:\in WINNT\System32\drivers
The third one was in C:\Documents and Settings\*My Account*\Application...

I'm thinking the second one is the problem? Should I delete the file or something? If not, where can I get the latest drivers for this stuff? From the Logitech website?
Yes, the second one would likely be causing the problem, hence the error pointing to that file. However, do you know that this file is the driver from one of your hardware devices? This driver may have well be installed from something else. It doesn't hurt to install them though, just make sure to remove them if it doesn't fix.

You can download them by clicking the download button in the link you posted.

I think you can feel safe deleting the driver in ./WINNT/System32/drivers/df_kmd.sys. Ensure to back it up first. However, if the OS is looking for the driver during boot and it can't find it because you delete it, it may simply crap out. Or it may just simply skip the driver and ask for it when windows loads. I'm not sure on this issue so I can't say that deleting the driver will not make your system even worse. Delete it at your own risk.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 08:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

HELL YES! WHOOHOO! DELETING THE FILE WORKED! BACK TO NORMAL. AFTER THAT 640X480 font of Safe Mode, this 1280x1024 looks BEAUTIFUL lol.

OK, I'm over it. Thanks a lot man. Thats the ultimate use of Tech Forums =)
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Glad to see it has been fixed

Just remember that errors will usually tell you (most of the time very obviously) where the problem is.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 09:40 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Will do, lol. I'm just new to this, haven't learned to read all the signs yet...even the really obvious ones, lol.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.