Hardware Issue? Comp freezes on all 3D accelerated games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2005, 01:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Default Hardware Issue? Comp freezes on all 3D accelerated games

Ok here's the problem. I bought a Compaq Presario SR1055CL around 1.5 years ago, and it ran perfectly well. I installed Diablo 2, Half Life, Quake 3, all those ran without a hitch. I then installed Counterstrike 1.6. (steam powered). It ran for around 3 months on Direct3D without a hitch, but after an update from Steam, my CS just doesn't run anymore. It starts up, I enter a game, but 3 minutes later, my computer just reboots. EVERY TIME. Now I'm denegerated to playing CS on pixelated software renderer. Help! My eyes are going blind!

Here's my system specs:

AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3000
freehd=C: 6459

And my Hijack it entry:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 22:59:28, on 2005/03/30
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
C:\Program Files\TGTSoft\StyleXP\StyleXPService.exe
C:\Program Files\Multimedia Card Reader\shwicon2k.exe
C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
C:\Program Files\NETGEAR\MA111 Configuration Utility\wlancfg4.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
C:\Program Files\BitTorrent\btdownloadgui.exe
C:\Program Files\Winamp\winamp.exe
C:\Program Files\BitTorrent\btdownloadgui.exe
C:\Program Files\Ahead\Nero\nero.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\Hijack This\HijackThis.exe

O2 - BHO: DAPBHO Class - {0096CC0A-623C-4829-AD9C-19AF0DC9D8FE} - C:\Program Files\DAP\DAPIEBar.dll
O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\ycomp5,1,1,0.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {549B5CA7-4A86-11D7-A4DF-000874180BB3} - (no file)
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {FDD3B846-8D59-4ffb-8758-209B6AD74ACC} - (no file)
O3 - Toolbar: &Yahoo! Companion - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\ycomp5,1,1,0.dll
O3 - Toolbar: DAP Bar - {62999427-33FC-4baf-9C9C-BCE6BD127F08} - C:\Program Files\DAP\DAPIEBar.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VTTimer] VTTimer.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Sunkist2k] C:\Program Files\Multimedia Card Reader\shwicon2k.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CloneCDTray] "C:\Program Files\SlySoft\CloneCD\CloneCDTray.exe" /s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [InCD] C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AlcxMonitor] ALCXMNTR.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [STYLEXP] C:\Program Files\TGTSoft\StyleXP\StyleXP.exe -Hide
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - Global Startup: MA111 Configuration Utility.lnk = C:\Program Files\NETGEAR\MA111 Configuration Utility\wlancfg4.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Download with &DAP - C:\PROGRA~1\DAP\dapextie.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\shdocvw.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\shdocvw.dll
O9 - Extra button: Run DAP - {669695BC-A811-4A9D-8CDF-BA8C795F261C} - C:\PROGRA~1\DAP\DAP.EXE
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM\aim.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O16 - DPF: {D1E7CBDA-E60E-4970-A01C-37301EF7BF98} (Measurement Service Client v.3.4) - http://ccon.futuremark.com/global/msc34.cab
O20 - Winlogon Notify: igfxcui - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\igfxsrvc.dll
O23 - Service: InCD Helper (InCDsrv) - Ahead Software AG - C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
O23 - Service: Sandra Data Service (SandraDataSrv) - SiSoftware - C:\Program Files\SiSoftware\SiSoftware Sandra Lite 2005.SR1\RpcDataSrv.exe
O23 - Service: Sandra Service (SandraTheSrv) - SiSoftware - C:\Program Files\SiSoftware\SiSoftware Sandra Lite 2005.SR1\RpcSandraSrv.exe
O23 - Service: Symantec Network Drivers Service (SNDSrvc) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SNDSrvc.exe
O23 - Service: StyleXPService - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\TGTSoft\StyleXP\StyleXPService.exe

Can anyone help? I've searched everywhere for a solution. Thank you very much.

Maceart is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 01:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

"VIA/S3G UniChrome IGP/MMX/K3D"

that's onboard video

that might be a problem


I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 09:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

It's restarting because your computer is being pushed just too hard and cant handle it. Like Diablo said, it is prolly a video card problem. It is onboard, and cant handle anythign too badass. The update probably was for video, too push it harder or something.

Your video card is probably holding you back. I recommend getting a new card. It dosent have to be too spectacular, just better than what you got. If you invest some money, you can get a good one.
Him is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

I am guessing your onboard is going or overheating, or your onboard was always damaged \ incapable but now this updates causes the instable part to crash.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.