Hardware Integration with C++ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2003, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1
Question Hardware Integration with C++

Do any one know how to integrate hardware from C++, like i want to use parallel port to control the electric appliences of my home, and i want to integrate it with C++, do any one of you know how to do that???

Karim is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 32

i don't, it sounds like you need a converter of some sort

good luck

noboundaries is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 12:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Chankama's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523

Well tell us more info about the h/w man. It depends on if the h/w supports it of course. For example, I can't use "C++" to power my toaster ..

In general, you can do it. Post more detailed specs of the device and what you want to do.
Chankama is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Thumbs up

You can integrate C++ to the hardware. We did it in our college in our last semester. With certain commands from C++ you can control the bits on parallel port and you can turn them on or off(1 or 0) You will need to make a hardware which i dont know much about how to do but i remember a little. We used some automatic switches which would turn to one side to allow the electricity to pass and we could flip flop those switches by using C++ commands. So u can control ur home devices but u need to make this control box and keep in mind that ur Parellel port is not powerfull enough to run a toaster so u use the power from the parallel port to just flip the switches and the rest is done by the electricity and the appliances.

I hope it helped ! Best of luck
softhunder is offline  
Old 06-21-2005, 03:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725

Thats about what I was going to say. Relays I think they are called. We have a bunch of them on a robot we built for FIRST. Actually melted one of the PWM pins on the fuse a few days ago...
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.