Hardware Installation Challenge - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2005, 11:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Unhappy Hardware Installation Challenge

OK - Let me purge:
Drive 0 took a dump. They sent me a replacement. Same Drive, same model#. (exact replacement)

I reloaded the OS - XP Pro along with SP2. Everything was disconnected 'cept for the IDE HD and my CD ROM during the install.

I then started to reconnect devices one by one. First device was a HD, SATA Maxtor 160 Gig. After reboot I get the found new hardware - disk drive balloon.
Then I get the found new hardware wizard. The wizard states cannot install this hardware.
The drive shows up in the device mangler with the yellow exclaimation. Drive shows up in "my computer" and the data on it is accessable.

Things I have tried:
1. Recopied the C:\WINDOWS\Driver Cache\i386\driver.cab from the installation CD.
2. Removed all listings in the registry relating to the drive.
3. Reloaded all drivers and BIOS updates related to the MB.
4. Updated everything Microsoft auto update recommended.

The following are (error?) messages that are generated after boot:

- cannot install this hardware
- there was aproblem installing this hardware
- the specified device does not exist as an installed service

Maybe there is a clue that I am overlooking hidden in the messages?

P l e a s e h e l p m e
__________________

joe2665 is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 02:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

SATA Driver from windows or mobo manufacturer maybe
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 04:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

never seen this problem before, but i ALWAYS have EVERYTHING hooked up when i'm installing a O/S...whether it be a slave HD or a webcam.
i never encouter problems that way, but when i seem to hook up stuff right after, tha's when the computer goes retarded.

this way, it will catch everything before it's ready to run.
__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Old 06-27-2005, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

I would suggest do a BIOS flash on your motherboard.

btw, you sure only the hard disk is having the problem?
hkfnstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.