hardware help on first build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2005, 10:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 24
Default

Well... see.. the power supply is only transforming the power from the outlet into the voltage my comp uses. And when it fizzles and blows up, that's when I'll buy a new one -- because it won't make a difference in the long run if it doesn't ever happen.
__________________

darkhitman is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

diabloII is right the extra $$ is worth it have you read the posts on the forums with the bad PSU.Cheap power supplies use cheap parts so the current fluctuates too much causing random restarts and alot of other headaches thats not worth saving 50-100 bucks.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 11:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

DiabloII is completly right about the power supply thing

However a 35$ thermaltake td-420AD will suffice very well in almost all PC's, great power supply and it's cheap.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 08:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 42
Default

SNIPPED

There is nothing wrong with a stocko power supply. I dont see the point in wasting $100 for something that does the exact same job at less than half that.

He said himself he is on a budget, so leave it at that. Wasting money on this crap is retarded.

SNIPPED
CorruptAssassin is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Both arguments for the PSU are true.
- you can make due with most of those PSU's that come with the case.
- but you'l have better peace of mind if you have a proven reliable one.

honestly if i had a socket 939 and a 6series nvidia card, i would get a reliable PSU aswell.

besides this guys budget is low, but not that low.. if it was super low, he would get a budget case instead of that.
jolancer is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:46 AM   #16 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i used the power supply that came with my case which was a 350w aspire psu pos it wouldnt even boot MY system (see sig) so i went out and bought a cheap 350w antec truepower and it runs great b4 would not be able to get into windows just constant nonstop restarts so in my opinion get a good power supply and be done with it,

also,
CorruptAssasin
that last post was uncalled for and foul language is not tolerated on this forum as is flamming to. DiabloII probly knows a lot more about computers than you do.
I myself was on an even tighter budget on my computer. I spend $450 for it and managed to get a reasonably good power supply whereas for 650 i would def get a good power supply
Found this in a review on Newegg
heres the link if you dont believe me
http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/...1208001&page=2
-Great case, LED lights look great,lots of room but the only flaw is that the power supply didnt hold up it died on me a week after i bought the case. Still recommend the case whos looking to build a new comp.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 10:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Never saw this button did you

Quote:
Originally posted by CorruptAssassin
diablo is full of ****, ffs

There is nothing wrong with a stocko power supply. I dont see the point in wasting $100 for something that does the exact same job at less than half that.

He said himself he is on a budget, so leave it at that. Wasting money on this crap is retarded.

DiabloII, ease off the weed mate

*Post has been Reported to Admins*
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 11:30 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

CoruptAssasaian must have never seen this

-"Power supply's are the number one cause of trouble in all PC's" -Scott Muleur

-Most random reboot cases are power supply's.

-A cheap power supply I was using took out an ENTIRE PC (except monitor, keyboard and mouser)

-My PC is unstable as hell with a 420 watt raidmax, but completly stable with a 420 watt thermaltake.

-Friends budget PSU outputs 14.5 volts on the 12 volt rail (This is why his new hard drives never work)
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CorruptAssassin
SNIPPED

There is nothing wrong with a stocko power supply. I dont see the point in wasting $100 for something that does the exact same job at less than half that.

He said himself he is on a budget, so leave it at that. Wasting money on this crap is retarded.

SNIPPED
how am i full of ****? when i built my computer, i was also on a budget (im only 14..), and yet i bought a $120 power supply (antec neopower 480W) because i knew that the power supply was the most important part of the system, since it powers everything

and take a look at all the high-end computers. why do you think they all use name brand PSU's (i.e. OCZ, PCP&C), it's because lower end ones (like the ones you use) are crap and can't power a power-hungry computer
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks guys for your input, except for the random outburst of PSU arguing everything was helpful. One question though, why the twinmos ram instead of the geil? It had many good reviews on newegg(almost 100).
__________________

natrix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.