Hardware Firewall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Question Hardware Firewall

"Hardware" - so right forum ..

Can any of you guys make any recommendations about firewalls? I just bought a DI 604. But planning on returning it.

I need something that can provide application level security (i.e. outbound traffic). Inbound traffic/external attacks is not sufficient. Essentially, a good h/w firewall that can also deal with trojans. Logging every packet is also useful.

And of course, cheaper the better - with these capabilities..

I already have s/w firewalls. But, not the same as having a good h/w firewall. The notion of having your "security" sitting on the same computer as you are trying to protect doesn't sit well with me :|..

Thx guys.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Just get a good broadband router, I suggest either a d-link, a linksys, or a belkin. These will act as wonderful hardware firewalls, along with a software firewall, you will be secure as you need to be. Remember though, some applications require you to add a virtual server, or a "gateway" on the router, to allow it to accept incoming connections and outgoing requests.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 05:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

He wants a real firewall.

By software firewalls, you mean a PC with 2 NIC's acting as a firewall only?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

This might not help for what you want to do, but the best firewall in existance is not connecting to the internet.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 06:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by emeraldice
This might not help for what you want to do, but the best firewall in existance is not connecting to the internet.
LOL this is very sad, but very true...
__________________
Quote:
In the eyes of Bill Gates, the open source world seems un-activated...
geffin is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

did you try to set up that DI-604??? that thing has a great firewall.
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.