Hardware failing - please help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2005, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default Hardware failing - please help

My display will freeze intermittently(mouse cursor still moves) for a few seconds, then goes black for a second then comes back. It's doing it more often now and sometimes will do it over and over so I have to power off. When it starts doing this, I will get an error beep from the tower. I thought maybe video card. I noticed it seems to do it more when I'm web browsing quickly in multiple windows so I thought maybe ram but that may just be coincidence. Please help. Thank you.

ink313 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 09:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611

What are you specs? Do you have extra parts lying around or an old comp that's outdated?

AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3

AMD Athlon XP 1900+
Abit KR7A-RAID motherboard(not using raid)
80gb WD Hard Drive
Asus V8200 GeForce 3
Audigy soundcard
300 watt psu
3dcool case w/dual 120mm side fans w/filters

I'm guessing my only option is to swap parts. Unfortunatly I don't have any to swap in. Can anyone please give me their best guess as to the cause of my problem. Any help is greatly appreciated. I guess I'll just start upgrading one part at a time starting with the power supply.
ink313 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363

Could be your monitor refresh rate, or mayeb your video card.

Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3

I've had the same monitor and settings since I built the computer a few years ago so I don't think it's the refresh.
ink313 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.