Harddrive x_X - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2005, 03:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Question Harddrive x_X

Yeah... I reallllly dont know very much... and I'd like to get this right the first time , so here are the questions.

My current harddrive currently has windows xp pro (illegal copy) on it... but it had some really weird errors that kept making me angry... so I went out and bought the full thing..

What I would like to know, is how do I get rid of everything I have on the harddrive right now? I dont really know how to format it... And I read the XP manual and it told me that if i put the disk in I could upgrade if I already had a copy of Windows installed. But i want to just start fresh, and be able to make the harddrive compleatly blank, then turn on the comp, and put in the XP Pro disk and install it =x.

Im worried ill mess somethin up tho ><.. so if you can tell me how to clear my harddrive compleatly.. and then if I will be able to install the windows disk simply by putting it in with no operating system on the harddrive at all..

Help is very much appreciated^^.
__________________

c0ntr4d1cti0n is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 03:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Reformat, put the win xp pro cd in at boot and it should give you the option to format
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 03:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by p0werslave
Reformat, put the win xp pro cd in at boot and it should give you the option to format
how do i "reformat" sure i could search google.. but i find people more reliable then dated information =x
c0ntr4d1cti0n is offline  
Old 12-27-2005, 04:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

put the Windows CD in your drive, restart and boot from it. You may need to go into the BIOS and make sure your boot sequence is CD-ROM, then Hard Drive. So when you're restarting with the CD in drive, press "any key" to boot from the CD and it should start going to windows setup. It's fairly straightforward. When you get to the place where you select a partition to install windows on, select the one you want. Sometimes I delete the OS partition and then create a new one in it's place. Be sure to choose the NTFS format. Then select that partition to install windows on and continue through the installation process.
Shannon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.